This book provides a holistic consideration of climate change that goes beyond pure science, fleshing out the discussion by considering cultural, historical, and policy-driven aspects of this important issue.
The Encyclopedia of Climate Change provides comprehensive coverage of global warming and climate change, including scientific descriptions and explanations of all factors, from carbon dioxide to sunspots, that might contribute to climate change.
The Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change provided a multi-authored, academic, yet non-technical resource to understand the importance of global warming, to appreciate the effects of human activity and greenhouse gases around the world, and to learn the history of climate change and the research enterprise examining it.
Curated by two climate leaders, All We Can Save is a collection of illuminating essays containing expertise and insights of dozens of diverse women at the forefront of the climate movement in the United States.
Twenty years after the influential OECD report on ancillary benefits, the authors discuss theoretical innovations and new empirical findings on various ancillary effects in different world regions. It provides starting points for further research on integrated climate policies.
The Fifth Assessment Report (AR5) of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change suggested that continuing inaction on climate change presents a significant threat to social stability. One of this book's most original claims is that our moral failure on this issue is, in large part, the product of motivated irrationality of the world's most prosperous people.
Flora and fauna respond to the pressures of environmental change. Humans adapt to those responses. Much of the discussion about human experiences of climate change centers on extreme events, but a focus on the microexperiences of change reveals how people make sense of it in their own lives.
Attention to climate-related disasters, arguably the most tangible manifestation of global warming, may help mobilize broader climate action. It can also be instrumental in transitioning to a path of low-carbon, green growth, disaster resilience, natural resource use, and caring for the urban environment.
This is the first work that demonstrates the connection between the hunger of the poor, the deprivation of safe and healthy food on the part of those who can afford it in the wealthy countries, but still face starvation in the sense of lack of nourishment, and climate change itself.
This book examines from different perspectives the moral significance of non-human members of the biotic community and their omission from climate ethics literature. Written in an accessible style by international scholars, the text incorporates sentiocentric, biocentric, and ecocentric perspectives on climate change.
This volume addresses the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal 13 "Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts" and contains the description of a range of terms, which allow a better understanding and foster knowledge.
The climate disruption challenges described include air pollution, climate change, extreme weather, and related health impacts. The solutions and actions explored in this book engage diverse sectors of civil society all oriented by ethics, advocacy, and policy with a special focus on vulnerable populations.
The authors of this book have been directly involved in the successful design and implementation of resilience programs. They apply their decades of combined experience to provide practical advice on how to plan for and live with a climate that is changing faster and more erratically than predicted.
This book presents an Empirical Model of Global Climate to show that global warming will likely remain below 2ºC throughout this century provided: a) Paris INDC commitments are followed; b) the emission reductions needed to achieve the Paris INDCs are carried forward to 2060 and beyond.
How can we best survive ten existential challenges (mass extinction, resource depletion, WMD, climate change, universal toxicity, food crises, population expansion, pandemic disease, dangerous technologies and self-delusion) that face us? This book describes these with possible solutions.
This book analyses the interplay of sustainable development and human rights, showing strong connections between human rights and the objectives of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Sustainable Development Goals adopted by the United Nations in 2015.