Librarian
Elliott Rose
they/she
Contact:
Earth and Mineral Sciences Library,
105 Deike Building,
University Park, PA 16802
105 Deike Building,
University Park, PA 16802
Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowUse Web of Science to find scholarly articles across the science disciplines, including meteorology and atmospheric sciences.
- Inspec (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new windowUseful index to materials on fluid flow and physics of the atmosphere.
- AMS Journals (Meteorology) This link opens in a new windowThis large collection of journal articles published by the American Meteorological Society is useful though not as comprehensive as other databases.
- NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new windowan index to scientific and technical reports, from 1964 to date. Sources of the reports include: NOAA, NASA, the Department of Defense, the Department of Energy, EPA, and other federal agencies, and international government departments and other international organizations including those from Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, Western and Eastern European countries.
- Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowIndex. Useful for materials on air pollution and particulates.
- Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)AULIMP focuses on military, geopolitical and aeronautical topics.
Reference Tools
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences, 2nd Edition by Call Number: QC854.E539ISBN: 9780123822260Publication Date: 2014-09-14Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences, 2nd Edition is an authoritative resource covering all aspects of atmospheric sciences, including both theory and applications. More than 320 articles and 1,600 figures and photographs.
Encyclopedia of World Climatology by ISBN: 9781402032660Publication Date: 2006-11-08Regional climates are understood by relating them to distant atmospheric events. Examination of events, from global warming to advances in satellite and radar climatology, provides keys to understanding. Similarly, such articles as microclimatology and urban climates provide insights into the scales of climate.
Smithsonian Meteorological Tables by Call Number: QC873.S6 1966ISBN: 0874741157Publication Date: 1984-09-01
A Dictionary of Weather by ISBN: 9780199541447Publication Date: 2008-10-11An authoritative and wide-ranging new edition of A Dictionary of Weather containing almost 2,000 entries on all areas of the subject.
