Climate Plan Example
To write a proposed climate plan for the island country of Malta, I first gather some basic information about the country including information about its endemic species, natural environment, and climate. This can be found in the country profile information sources, such as the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations.
Reading that inadequate natural freshwater resources has led to a dependence on desalination in Malta has led me to seek out sources on this issue. I use LionSearch to see what the University Libraries' has in their collections using the keywords "Malta" and "desalination" leading me to multiple articles and other sources I can use for my project.
The Republic of Malta
Country Profile Information Sources
- CIA World Factbook: Country ProfilesA brief one page summary of basic information and statistics on every country is available.
- UNData: A World of InformationOffers profile of statistics by type, country, or geographic region using data compiled from a wide variety of United Nations and related organizations.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations by Publication Date: 2017Presents easy-to-understand information on more than 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Countries and Their Cultures by Publication Date: 2001A team of anthropologists and social scientists have taken a close look at more than 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do.
Political Handbook of the World 2018-2019 by Publication Date: 2019The Political Handbook of the World continues to be the most authoritative source for finding complete facts and analysis on each country's governmental and political makeup.
Searching the University Libraries' Collections
Once you have learned about your country's natural environment and specific issues concerning its climate, you can search all of the collections in the University Libraries' to find more focused information using LionSearch.
- LionSearch This link opens in a new windowan integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.