Archivist and Humanities Librarian
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Heidi Abbey Moyer
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Available for in-person and Zoom appointments for Fall 2024
Website
Penn State Harrisburg History
Penn State Harrisburg by ISBN: 9781467116107Publication Date: 2016-05-02Established in 1966 as Pennsylvania's first upper division and graduate center, Penn State Harrisburg has served a vital role in the south central Pennsylvania community for more than half a century. Located in Middletown, eight miles east of Harrisburg and on the site of the 19th-century Keystone Farm, the college occupies 218 acres that operated as the Olmsted Air Force Base until it was purchased by the Pennsylvania State University and named the "Capitol Campus." In just 50 years, Penn State Harrisburg has grown from only 18 students to become a comprehensive four-year college and graduate school with an enrollment of over 4,500. Featuring rare photographs and unique publications from the school's extensive archives, Penn State Harrisburg illustrates the college's journey--the people, places, events, and activities that have influenced its tremendous progress since the 1960s.
For more information about the history of Penn State Harrisburg, please contact Heidi Abbey Moyer, Archivist and Humanities Reference Librarian and Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections, at hna2@psu.edu.
Art & Architecture Self-Guided Walking Tour of Campus
- Art & Architecture Self-Guided Walking Tour of Campus (Download PDF of the Brochure Here)
Take a trip through campus—both past and present—via this brochure. And when you are done looking at the brochure online, get outside, and take an actual tour of our beautiful campus! We have prepared a "Self-Guided Walking Tour of Campus" that, at a moderate walking pace, takes approximately one hour to complete and features mostly flat terrain.
Highlights of the tour include several of Penn State Harrisburg's landmarks and architecture, such as the "Nittany Lion Shrine" (in front of the Madlyn L. Hanes Library), the Boris and Bertha Blai Sculpture Garden (behind the Olmsted Building), "Capital Campus Sculpture," Campus Fountain, "Rhythm of the Sea" Sculpture by Boris Blai (behind the Student Enrichment Center or SEC Building), and the "Peace Symbol Monument" near the Engineering Technology Laboratory that is near the entrance of the campus. Please Note: Due to limited access to the Oliver LaGrone Cultural Arts Center in the Olmsted Building, the mural may not be accessible to campus visitors without advanced notice. - Art & Architecture Self-Guided Walking Tour of Campus (Download JPEG Images - Pages 1 and 2)About the walking tour, contact information for Archives and Special Collections and information on how to connect with the archives.
- Art & Architecture Self-Guided Walking Tour of Campus (Download JPEG Images - Pages 3 and 4)Highlights of the walking tour and a map of campus, which includes the walking path labelled in red.
