Located in Carlisle, PA, and founded in 1874, the historical society is dedicated to collect, preserve, interpret and promote the rich history
of Cumberland County, Pennsylvania.

Located in Pine Grove Furnace State Park in Gardners, PA, the Appalachian Trail Museum serves the Appalachian Trail community by telling the stories of the founding, construction, preservation, maintenance, protection, and enjoyment of the Trail since its creation.

The U.S. Army Heritage and Education Center (USAHEC) is the premier facility for historical research on U.S. Army history and is dedicated to "Telling the Army story...one Soldier at a time." The expansive campus includes the Visitor and Education Center, the U.S. Army War College Library, the U.S. Army Military History Institute, and the Army Heritage Trail. Open to the public, key features of the USAHEC include interpretive and interactive exhibits, the research library and archive, and rentable multifunction facilities.

Archives & Special Collections houses valuable collections of rare books, personal papers, photographs, artifacts, and Dickinson College records. Materials range as far back as the Medieval Period, though the bulk of the materials date from 1780 through to the present. Collection strengths related to Pennsylvania history include materials related to the Carlisle Indian School, the Civil War, LGBT Center of Central PA that documents the stories and history of LGBT life and activism in Central PA, and Three Mile Island.

Based in Harrisburg, PA, the Camp Curtin Historical Society & Civil War Round Table is a nonprofit, all volunteer organization, dedicated to the preservation of Camp Curtin history, landmarks and relics. The Society involves a wide array of students, neighbors, historians and civic leaders in a continuing mission of educational outreach and community service.

Located in Harrisburg, PA, the Historical Society of Dauphin County (HSDC) was founded in 1869 in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Early programs and displays were offered in the 1860 County Courthouse. In 1906, a prominent Harrisburg family donated its Front Street home to the Society as its headquarters. Here the Society remained until 1941, when the heirs of 19th century businessman and politician Simon Cameron gave to the Society their home, built by early settler John Harris, one of the city’s founders.

The mission of the Middletown Area Historical Society is to collect, preserve, and teach the history of the town and the surrounding area. Middletown Borough was founded in 1755 is the oldest town in Dauphin County.

Located in Hershey, PA, the AACA Museum, Inc. is dedicated to the preservation and presentation of motor vehicle history in a manner that provides for the education and entertainment of our guests.

The Hershey Story museum experience takes visitors on a journey through his life, his chocolate company, his generous philanthropic legacy and the town of Hershey, PA. Engaging museum exhibits explore Mr. Hershey’s early failures, how he successfully revolutionized the process of making milk chocolate, and how the orphan boys of the Hershey Industrial School became heirs to his fortune.

Located in Harrisburg, PA, the National Civil War Museum incorporates collections of artifacts, manuscripts, documents, photographs, and other printed matter that exceed 24,000 items. Although many items have been donated to The National Civil War Museum since its opening in 2001, the vast majority of its collections were acquired by the City of Harrisburg between 1994 and 1999 under the auspices of Mayor Stephen R. Reed.

Located in Harrisburg, PA, the Pennsylvania National Fire Museum is in an historic 1899 Victorian Firehouse. It was once the home of the Reily Hose Fire Co. No. 10 of Harrisburg. Exhibits focus on the history of the fire service from the time of America's colonial days to the present.

Located in downtown Harrisburg, PA, the State Museum of Pennsylvania is a non-profit museum at 300 North Street in downtown Harrisburg, run by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania through the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission to preserve and interpret the region's history and culture. It is a part of the Pennsylvania State Capitol Complex.

The archives is located on the third floor of the library, and houses ten, distinct primary resource collections. These include the Alice Marshall Women's History Collection (1546-1997), the Penn State Harrisburg College History Archives (1966-Present), the Pennsylvania Center for Folklore Collection, the Lena Girolami Collection, Fred Greguras Camp Meade Collection, Herb Field Papers, Holocaust and Jewish Studies Collection, J. Randall Plummer Photography Collection, and Three Mile Island Collection, and the Special Interest Collection of local history and other unique books.

Hershey Community Archives’ mission is to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to the records documenting the lives of Milton and Catherine Hershey and to promote the study and understanding of their vision and legacy as embodied in the businesses and communities they established.

The Pennsylvania State Archives collects, preserves and makes available for study the permanently-valuable public records of the Commonwealth, with particular attention given to the records of state government. The State Archives also collects papers of private citizens and organizations relevant to Pennsylvania history.

The Conestoga Area Historical Society facility incorporates an ethnographic museum that features over three hundred years of life in the west-central area of Lancaster County. The focus is the townships of Conestoga, Manor, Martic, Pequea Townships, and the borough of Millersville.

LancasterHistory is a community-based, not-for-profit organization established to educate the public on the history of Lancaster County and its place in the history of Pennsylvania and the United States, to advance the missions of regional historical organizations, and to promote the acquisition, preservation, and interpretation of resources representing the history of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania within the broader context of state and national history, including the life and legacy of America’s fifteenth president, James Buchanan, and to preserve and maintain Wheatland, his home.

Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society’s mission is to hold, honor, and share items and stories featuring the lived experiences and faith values of Lancaster Mennonites and interrelated communities.

Ephrata Cloister is one of 26 historic sites and museums on the Pennsylvania Trail of History. Ephrata Cloister’s historic buildings, collections, and programming invite the exploration of this unique community’s spiritual, creative, and intellectual accomplishments by encouraging visitors to develop a personal connection to Pennsylvania’s significant role in religious toleration and intellectual freedom. Ephrata Cloister is administered by the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission and is actively supported by the Ephrata Cloister Associates which is a non-profit community-based organization.

Located in Manheim Township in Lancaster, PA, the Landis Valley Village & Farm Museum is a nationally significant living history museum that collects, conserves, exhibits and interprets Pennsylvania German material culture and heritage between 1750-1940. This is accomplished through preservation and interpretation of the largest collection of Pennsylvania German artifacts in the country and through the presentation of authentic traditional farming, village and industrial life, skilled craft demonstrations, and historical animals and plants.

Located in Columbia, PA, and operated by the National Association of Watch & Clock Collectors, the National Watch & Clock Museum features the largest collection of timepieces in North America – more than 13,000 from around the world, including a German table clock from about 1570.

Located in Lancaster, PA, the North Museum was founded in 1953 by Franklin & Marshall College. Named for Lancaster businessman Hugh M. North, whose estate funded the building’s construction, the North Museum quickly became a destination in the community for introducing children to the natural world. The Museum’s collections trace their existence back to the 19th century and an active group of amateur naturalists in Lancaster County called the Linnaean Society. They collected specimens to document the flora and fauna of this region, and in time, their combined collections found a home at Franklin & Marshall College. Today, the North Museum’s collections include more than 360,000 objects in disciplines ranging from archaeology to zoology.

Located in Strasburg, PA, the Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania educates the public regarding the Commonwealth’s rich railroad history, discovering the relevance of railroads in building the nation and the role of today’s railroads in our lives.

In addition to collecting and preserving the permanent historical record of Franklin and Marshall College (1853-present) and its related institutions, Franklin College (1787-1853), Marshall College (1835-1853), and Franklin and Marshall Academy (1871-1943), the repository houses an extremely impressive range of manuscripts and rare books, including: a world-class collection of German American and Lancaster County imprints, subject-specific manuscript collections relating to Pennsylvania-German culture, American theater, iconography, and historical autographs; and over over 8,000 titles ranging from a ca.1450 South Netherlands Book of Hours to the newest collectible or limited-edition publication.

Millersville University Archives and Special Collections collects and preserves a large collection of photos, historical records, memorabilia, rare books, and other documents relating to the University and Lancaster county. Collections are particularly strong in the history of education, Pennsylvania German history, culture, and printing, as well as a growing collection in African American history and women’s history.

The Hess Archives and Special Collections includes the College Archives, materials related to the Church of the Brethren, and collections that support the work of the Young Center for Anabaptist and Pietist Studies.

Established in 1898, the Lebanon County Historical Society collects, exhibits, interprets, preserves, and publishes the history of the Lebanon Valley. The historical society is home to the Stoy Museum and the Hauck Research Archives. The Lebanon County Historical Society also owns and maintains the Union Canal Tunnel, the oldest existing transportation tunnel in the United States.

The Mount Gretna Area Historical Society is charged with preserving the heritage of the entire Mount Gretna area, including Mount Gretna Borough, Campmeeting, the Pennsylvania Chautauqua, The Heights, Timber Hills, Conewago Hill, Stoberdale, areas to Colebrook once occupied by the Pennsylvania National Guard, and areas of Cornwall which involved the Coleman family.

Located in at Fort Indiantown Gap in Anneville, PA, the Pennsylvania National Guard Military Museum is concerned with the preservation of the history of the Pennsylvania National Guard and Fort Indiantown Gap. Housed in a two story barracks built in 1941, the museum showcases items and weapons from the Civil War to the Gulf War, as well as items that depict the history of the Pennsylvania National Guard and Fort Indiantown Gap.

Located in Dillsburg, PA, the NYCHAPS includes a living museum where history is experienced hands on. Included is a recreation of a farm distillery that once produced Pennsylvania rye Whisky.

The York County History Center is a non-profit organization that utilizes collections, historic sites, and museums to help tell the American story. The History Center’s collection encompasses more than 90,000 artifacts highlighting nearly 300 years of York’s impressive history. These artifacts document the development, culture, and contributions of the York County community. There are five museums that comprise the York County History Center, including the Historical Society Museum, the Agricultural and Industrial Museum, the Colonial Complex, the Bonham House, and the Fire Museum.

Located in Hellam Township, PA, the Haines Shoe House was built in 1948 by eccentric millionaire and shoe salesman, Mahlon Haines, also known as the "Shoe Wizard." While not technically a museum, it has become an icon in American popular culture.

Located in York, PA, the Police Heritage Museum, Inc. is a non-profit organization incorporated and dedicated to the preservation of police artifacts and the history of law enforcement.

The Research Library & Archives houses an extensive and varied collection covering a wide range of topics, including genealogy and family history, local history, decorative arts, community organizations and historic sites, arts and entertainment, and military history.