Library Guides: HIST 12: History of Pennsylvania: County Histories

County Histories

Cumberland County: History of Cumberland and Adams Counties, Pennsylvania (1886)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania."

County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania This link opens in a new window
Also Called: Gale's Archives Unbound. Essential source for county histories in Pennsylvania. Contains 283 titles, primarily county histories published during the late 19th and early 20th century. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.

An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania...Edited by William H. Egle (1880)
This is an eBook version of An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Civil, Political and Military, from its earliest settlement to the present time, including historical descriptions of each county in the state, their towns, and industrial resources, edited by William Egle (2nd Edition).

County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania
Also Called: Gale's Archives Unbound. Essential source for county histories in Pennsylvania. Contains 283 titles, primarily county histories published during the late 19th and early 20th century. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
more...less...
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.
An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania...Edited by William H. Egle (1880)
This is an eBook version of An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Civil, Political and Military, from its earliest settlement to the present time, including historical descriptions of each county in the state, their towns, and industrial resources, edited by William Egle (2nd Edition).

Biographical Annals of Cumberland County Pennsylvania (1905)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." Contains biographical sketches of early settlers in the county.
Cumberland County: History of Cumberland and Adams Counties, Pennsylvania (1886)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania."

County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania This link opens in a new window
Also Called: Gale's Archives Unbound. Essential source for county histories in Pennsylvania. Contains 283 titles, primarily county histories published during the late 19th and early 20th century. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.

An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania...Edited by William H. Egle (1880)
This is an eBook version of An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Civil, Political and Military, from its earliest settlement to the present time, including historical descriptions of each county in the state, their towns, and industrial resources, edited by William Egle (2nd Edition).

Dauphin County: Commemorative Biographical Encyclopedia Of Dauphin County Pennsylvania (1896)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history contains sketches of prominent Scotch-Irish and German settlers.
Dauphin County: History of Dauphin County Pennsylvania, Volume 1 (1907)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history of Dauphin County was written by Luther Riley Kelker. Volume 1 includes information about Native Americans, early settlers, early origins of the county, government, military and religious history, newspapers, and townships.
Dauphin County: History of Dauphin County Pennsylvania, Volume 2 (1907)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history of Dauphin County was written by Luther Riley Kelker. Volume 2 includes information about the City of Harrisburg and Military Rolls.
Dauphin County: History of Dauphin County Pennsylvania, Volume 3 (1907)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history of Dauphin County was written by Luther Riley Kelker. Volume 3 includes genealogical memoirs.

County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania This link opens in a new window
Also Called: Gale's Archives Unbound. Essential source for county histories in Pennsylvania. Contains 283 titles, primarily county histories published during the late 19th and early 20th century. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.

An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania...Edited by William H. Egle (1880)
This is an eBook version of An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Civil, Political and Military, from its earliest settlement to the present time, including historical descriptions of each county in the state, their towns, and industrial resources, edited by William Egle (2nd Edition).

History of Lancaster County (1883)
Free Google eBook. Written by Franklin Ellis and Samuel Evans. Includes biographical sketches.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania: A History, Volume 1 Geography (1904)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history of Lancaster County was edited by H.M.J. Klein and E. Melvin Williams. Volume 1 includes "Geography, Political, and Provincial" information.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania: A History, Volume 2 War Record (1904)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history of Lancaster County was edited by H.M.J. Klein and E. Melvin Williams. Volume 2 includes "War Record, Manufacturing, Religious. Professions, and Education Histories."
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania: A History, Volume 3 Biographical (1904)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history of Lancaster County was edited by H.M.J. Klein and E. Melvin Williams. Volume 3 includes biographical information.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania: A History, Volume 4 Biographical (1904)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history of Lancaster County was edited by H.M.J. Klein and E. Melvin Williams. Volume 4 includes biographical information.

County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania This link opens in a new window
Also Called: Gale's Archives Unbound. Essential source for county histories in Pennsylvania. Contains 283 titles, primarily county histories published during the late 19th and early 20th century. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.

An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania...Edited by William H. Egle (1880)
This is an eBook version of An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Civil, Political and Military, from its earliest settlement to the present time, including historical descriptions of each county in the state, their towns, and industrial resources, edited by William Egle (2nd Edition).

Biographical Annals Of Lebanon County (1904)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania."
History of the Counties Of Berks And Lebanon (1844)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history of Berks and Lebanon Counties was written by Israel Daniel Rupp.
more...less...
Full Title: History of the Counties of Berks and Lebanon, Containing A Brief Account Of The Indians Who Inhabited This Region Of Country, And The Numerous Murders By Them: Notices Of The First Swedish, Welsh, French, German, Irish, And English Settlers,Giving The Names Of Nearly Five Thousand Of Them, Biographical Sketches,Topographical Descriptions Of Every Township, And Of The Principal, Towns And Villages; The Religious History,With Much Useful Statistical Information
A History of Lebanon County Prior to 1876 (1913)
A free eBook from the Internet Archive, this book was authored by William M. Breslin and printed by the Lebanon County Historical Society.

County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania This link opens in a new window
Also Called: Gale's Archives Unbound. Essential source for county histories in Pennsylvania. Contains 283 titles, primarily county histories published during the late 19th and early 20th century. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.

An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania...Edited by William H. Egle (1880)
This is an eBook version of An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Civil, Political and Military, from its earliest settlement to the present time, including historical descriptions of each county in the state, their towns, and industrial resources, edited by William Egle (2nd Edition).

County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania
Also Called: Gale's Archives Unbound. Essential source for county histories in Pennsylvania. Contains 283 titles, primarily county histories published during the late 19th and early 20th century. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
more...less...
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.
An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania...Edited by William H. Egle (1880)
This is an eBook version of An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Civil, Political and Military, from its earliest settlement to the present time, including historical descriptions of each county in the state, their towns, and industrial resources, edited by William Egle (2nd Edition).

County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania
Also Called: Gale's Archives Unbound. Essential source for county histories in Pennsylvania. Contains 283 titles, primarily county histories published during the late 19th and early 20th century. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
more...less...
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.
An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania...Edited by William H. Egle (1880)
This is an eBook version of An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Civil, Political and Military, from its earliest settlement to the present time, including historical descriptions of each county in the state, their towns, and industrial resources, edited by William Egle (2nd Edition).

History of York County, Volume 1 (1907)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history was written by George R. Prowell. Volume 1 includes information about Native Americans, early settlers, early origins of the county, information about numerous townships and boroughs, the City of York, as well as military and religious history.
History of York County, Volume 2 (1907)
Direct link to eBook in Gale's Archives Unbound, also called "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania." This history was written by George R. Prowell. Volume 2 includes biographical and genealogical information.

County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania This link opens in a new window
Also Called: Gale's Archives Unbound. Essential source for county histories in Pennsylvania. Contains 283 titles, primarily county histories published during the late 19th and early 20th century. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and some early town and city plans.
County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania provides portraits of people, places and events, putting the state’s local history into current context with the examination of demographic, social and cultural transformations. Included in this collection of 283 titles are tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life. The atlases provide additional information on land use and settlement patterns and scarce early town and city plans. Use this collection to support research in areas such as regional studies, social history, genealogy, economics and business.

An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania...Edited by William H. Egle (1880)
This is an eBook version of An Illustrated History of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Civil, Political and Military, from its earliest settlement to the present time, including historical descriptions of each county in the state, their towns, and industrial resources, edited by William Egle (2nd Edition).

Pennsylvania County Histories - Digital Collections

Digitized County Histories (Penn State University Libraries)
A collection of 25 early county histories, largely from the 1800s, digitized by the Penn State University Libraries and freely accessible online.
Digitized Documents and Images (PA Power Library)
A digital portal to thousands of documents and images from libraries across Pennsylvania, including local newspapers, 89 collections of PA history, art and architecture, church and missionary histories, genealogy, oral histories, postcards, yearbooks, and more!