Library Guides: AMST 100: Introduction to American Studies: Gender &amp; Sexuality

Sources for Gender & Sexuality

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
An index produced by the Research Libraries Group to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
A great resource for both primary and secondary resources related to LGBTQIA+ topics. You can search from the main page by Subject, or the Browse option permits your to search by content type. Here, select the "Archival Collections" options for great primary source content.
LGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.

ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives
The oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the U.S. and the world's largest repository of LGBTQ materials. Some materials from the archive are digitized and online.
more...less...
Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers.
OutHistory.org
OutHistory.org was founded in October 2008 by Jonathan Ned Katz, author of Gay American History (1976) and other historical books about sexuality and gender. The website includes a mixture of primary and secondary sources, including books, documents, oral histories, timelines, and more.
more...less...
OutHistory.org encompasses "free, evidence-based features and documents on U.S. lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer history. We do the history of people who did not conform to dominant norms of sexuality and gender -- and people who did."

Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (Gerritsen) This link opens in a new window
Portal to an archival collection of publications related to women's issues, which was collected by Aletta H. Jacobs and her husband, C.V. Gerritsen. The collection contains both periodicals and monographs, which span a 400 year period. It also includes resources in languages other than English.
Full text books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights through 1945. Includes materials from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An excellent resource for finding primary sources related to women's popular culture.
Women’s Magazine Archive provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. "Parents", for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Key resource for primary sources related to women's rights in the United States.
The database includes books, images, audiofiles, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies on women's social movements from colonial times to the present.

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals.
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities, this database contains indexing and abstracts for GLBT-specific core periodicals.
LGBT Life is the premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities, this database contains indexing and abstracts for GLBT-specific core periodicals.

The Advocate
Gay news - commentary, arts & entertainment, health, parenting, and politics. The Advocate is the leading source for up-to-date and extensive LGBT news. The magazine reports monthly on news, politics, business, medical issues, fine arts, and entertainment. Advocate.com is a source for breaking news and current events in all of those areas.
OUT Magazine
Gay and lesbian perspectives on style, entertainment, travel, fashion, arts, politics, culture, music, film, celebrities and the world at large.

Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of American Studies provides interdisciplinary coverage of the American experience, from pre-colonial days to the present. Over 660 articles cover areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
The Encyclopedia of American Studies provides interdisciplinary coverage of the American experience, from pre-colonial days to the present. Over 660 articles cover areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.

Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture by Luca Prono
ISBN: 9780313335990
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
The Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Popular Culture identifies the people, films, TV shows, literature, and sports figures that have made significant contributions to both gay and lesbian popular culture, and American popular culture.
Encyclopedia of Sexuality and Gender by Amy D. Lykins (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319595313
Publication Date: 2019
This Encyclopedia contains five sections: Sexual Behavior, Sexual Orientation, Relationships and Reproduction, Gender, and Sexuality and Gender Science. The Sexuality and Gender Science section reviews the history of sexuality and gender science (including its major contributors), typical research methodologies, and research societies and journals whose focus is related to sexuality and/or gender research.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1000 reference resources.
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.

The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History by Howard Chiang
ISBN: 9780684325538
Publication Date: 2019-02-08
A three-volume set, The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide.
The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality, 3 Volume Set by Anne Bolin (Editor); Patricia Whelehan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405190060
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems.

American Men's Studies Association (AMSA)
he purpose of the American Men’s Studies Association (AMSA) is to develop the critical studies of men and masculinities globally through the advancement of feminist-informed scholarship. AMSA’s goal is to provide a forum for teachers, researchers, students, artists, and practitioners to collaborate and support one another in a mutually empowering environment.
American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)
Sexuality is a normal, healthy, and positive aspect of human life. The American Sexual Health Association (a.k.a. ASHA) believes that everyone has the right to information and services that will help them be sexually healthy. ASHA aims to provide resources and information that is reliable, science-based, and stigma-free.
Human Rights Campaign (HRC)
Established in 1980, the Human Rights Campaign strives to end discrimination against LGBTQ people and realize a world that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all. HRC envisions a world where lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer people are ensured equality and embraced as full members of society at home, at work and in every community.
National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC)
The National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) is America's leading national Black civil rights organization dedicated to the empowerment of Black lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and same gender loving (LGBTQ/SGL) people, including people living with HIV/AIDS. NBJC’s mission is to end racism, homophobia, and LGBTQ/SGL bias and stigma.
National Center for Lesbian Rights (NCLR)
NCLR is a national legal organization committed to advancing the civil and human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and their families through litigation, legislation, policy, and public education.
National Center for Transgender Equality
Established in 2003, the National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE) advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.
National LGBTQ Task Force
Created in 1973, the National LGBTQ Task Force is the oldest group for lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual people. The organization advances full freedom, justice, and equality for LGBTQ people.
National Organization for Women (NOW)
Founded in 1966 as the grassroots arm of the women’s movement, the National Organization for Women (NOW) is dedicated to its multi-issue and multi-strategy approach to women’s rights, and is the largest organization of feminist grassroots activists in the United States. NOW’s purpose is to take action through intersectional grassroots activism to promote feminist ideals, lead societal change, eliminate discrimination, and achieve and protect the equal rights of all women and girls in all aspects of social, political, and economic life.
National Women's Studies Association (NSWA)
Established in 1977, the National Women's Studies Association has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings.
XY Online
Although not technically an organization or association, XY is a comprehensive resource focused on men, masculinities, and gender politics. XY is a space for the exploration of issues of gender and sexuality, the daily issues of men’s and women’s lives, and practical discussion of personal and social change. See especially links to other gender resources online: http://xyonline.net/links.