Library Guides: AMST 100: Introduction to American Studies: Foodways &amp; Food

Sources for Foodways & Food

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
An index produced by the Research Libraries Group to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world
Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
This resource features primary source materials documenting the evolution of food and drink within everyday life. Includes the cookbook collections from the University of California San Diego and Michigan State University, with a focus on Mexican, Latin American, Pacific Rim, Chinese early Californian, African and Asian cuisine.
Primary source materials documenting the evolution of food and drink within everyday life. Includes the cookbook collections from the University of California San Diego and Michigan State University, with a focus on Mexican, Latin American, Pacific Rim, Chinese early Californian, African and Asian cuisine.

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals.
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography.

Food, Culture and Society
An international journal of multidisciplinary research. Published on behalf of the Association for the Study of Food and Society (ASFS).
Gastronomica: The Journal for Food Studies
Gastronomica, a leading food studies journal, has just published the first issue under new leadership – an editorial collective of food scholars from around the world who represent numerous scholarly disciplines and perspectives. Gastronomica represents the space where the breadth of academic scholarship on food cultures meets a public that is increasingly interested in questions of food, gastronomy, and the culinary arts.
Global Food History
Global Food History is the preeminent peer-reviewed journal for authors who wish to write about food and drink using history as their primary disciplinary perspective—though we also welcome work from scholars in other disciplines or who use interdisciplinary methods to consider the relationship between food history and food studies.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.

Cook's Illustrated
Cook's Illustrated is an American cooking magazine published every two months by the America's Test Kitchen company in Brookline, Massachusetts. It accepts no advertising and is characterized by extensive recipe testing and detailed instructions.
Food and Wine Magazine
Food & Wine is an American monthly magazine published by Meredith Corporation.
Saveur Magazine
Saveur is a gourmet, food, wine, and travel magazine that specializes in essays about various world cuisines. Its slogan—Savor a World of Authentic Cuisine—signals the publication's focus on enduring culinary traditions, as opposed to ephemeral food trends.
Taste of Home
Taste of Home is an American media brand centered on food. It is an example of user-generated content in magazines, publishing recipes submitted by home cooks. Taste of Home is owned by Trusted Media Brands, which also owns Reader's Digest, Birds and Blooms and The Family Handyman.

Encyclopedia of American Studies This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of American Studies provides interdisciplinary coverage of the American experience, from pre-colonial days to the present. Over 660 articles cover areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.
The Encyclopedia of American Studies provides interdisciplinary coverage of the American experience, from pre-colonial days to the present. Over 660 articles cover areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.

Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by Andrew F. Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195154375
Publication Date: 2004-12-09
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America includes 800 intriguing articles (from over 200 contributors), and covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. In an A-Z format, this two-volume set details the regions, people, ingredients, foods, drinks, publications, advertising, companies, historical periods, and political and economic aspects pertinent to American cuisine.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1000 reference resources.
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.