A guide to completing research on the interdisciplinary study of the culture, history, and society of the United States, including folk and popular culture, history, politics, society and ethnography, regional and urban studies, and public heritage.
Most comprehensive database for American Studies research.
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations. Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography. App information
Note: You can search JSTOR for American Studies or other related subjects under Advanced Search.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collection this database offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Ephemera include early trade cards, theater playbills, stock certificates, menus and invitations, popular songs and music, and poetry. American Broadsides and Ephemera can be searched as a single collection, or combined with other resources in the Archive of Americana.
full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Contains full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Digitized page images reproduce the publications as they appeared when originally published.
information about manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world
An index produced by the Research Libraries Group to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world
primary source historical collections covering nearly three centuries of American History.
A family of primary source historical collections covering nearly three centuries of American History. The resources can be searched together or separately. Currently includes: American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I Broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints from the disnguished bibliography created by Charles Evans. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 Bbooks, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. America's Historical Newspapers Early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 present states.
Indexes hundreds of international art magazines, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as some published in other languages. Indexing is available for publications 1929+; abstracting for 1994+, and Full Text is often available for 1997+ but keyword searches do not explore the full texts – only the titles, subject headings, & etc.. Not covered by LionSearch.
research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields. App information
the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.
With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.
Pop Culture Universe(PCU) is an authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present and includes more than 250 volumes of reviewed, published material comprising thousands of articles, fully indexed by a team of librarians and subject specialists.Built on hundreds of award-winning titles for all levels of researchers, PCU provides a safe haven for investigating topics that appeal to students - without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture from 1950 to 1975
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.By focussing on substantial collections of original archival material – manuscript, typescript and ephemera – from key libraries in Britain and America – Adam Matthew provides the primary sources that will enable students and scholars to examine these issues in detail and at first hand: Changing Lifestyles, 1950-1975 Youth Culture Student Protests Mai ‘68 Popular Culture; TV; Music; Movies Civil Rights; Women’s Liberation; Minority Groups The Space Race Consumerism; Credit Cards; Computers Vietnam War Nuclear Disarmament
magazines, journals, and newspapers in all subjects
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. It contains Full text (word file with no photos or tables) or images (looks like real paper publication) to over 2,000 journals, and Full text to 150+ newspapers. Keywords: news, new york times,current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, english 15,cas100.
Seeking to develop the next generation of Americanists, New Errands’ mission is to provide a venue for the publication of important original scholarship by emerging young scholars and to provide a teaching resource for instructors of American Studies looking for exemplary work to use in the classroom. New Errands is jointly published by the Eastern American Studies Association and the American Studies Program at Penn State Harrisburg.