Archivist and Humanities Librarian
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Heidi Abbey Moyer
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Available for in-person and Zoom appointments for Fall 2024
Website
Music and Video Recordings
- Billboard Charts ArchiveCurious which hip-hop and rap songs were most popular for a given year? Find them here.
- Slacker Radio: Hip-HopOffers more than 20 hip-hop stations, including stations for Old School, various decades, and some subgenres.
- Hip Hop Radio by Radio.netRadio.net is the largest directory of online radio stations. Here you'll find hip-hop stations from across the globe.
- Rap Radio by Radio.netRadio.net's list of rap stations from around the world.
- VevoThe largest source of official music videos. Use the search box at the top of the page to find videos of your favorite artists.
- WhoSampledA crowdsourced means of discovering who influenced whom in hip-hop and rap.
Other Primary Sources
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new windowA source of black newspapers through the late 1990s. Helpful for information about hip-hop and rap's early history.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowBest source for news from African American and other ethnic publications. Also includes scholarly journals. To the left of your results, limit your search by "Source Type" and other factors if you need to focus on a particular type of publication.
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowDespite the title, this database includes a lot of reviews, interviews, and other resources for hip-hop and rap.
- HipHop Archive & Research Institute (HARI)Founded in 2002 and based at the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University, the HipHop Archive & Research Institute (HARI) documents hip-hop's influence on culture and society in America and around the world. Aside from hosting hip-hop artists, programs, and events that explore the genres' profound and far-reaching impact in art, popular and consumer culture, and social history, the Institute supports the Nasir Jones Hiphop Fellowship for academic research and scholarship in the field.
- Universal Hip Hop Museum (UHHM): The Official Record of Hip HopScheduled to open in 2024, and located in the Bronx, the UHHM was founded in 2012 by Rocky Bucano, entrepreneurs, and artists including Kurtis Blow, Ice T, LL Cool J, Nas, and many others. They joined forces to create the world’s first Hip Hop museum. The museum’s main 5-bar logo represents the five elements of Hip Hop Culture: DJ'ing, MC'ing, B-Boy'ing, Graffiti, and Knowledge. Although construction on the museum was delayed by the COVID-19 pandemic, anyone can visit "The [R]Evolution of Hip Hop Experience," at the Bronx Terminal Market, the UHHM's temporary home until construction is complete.