Archivist and Humanities Librarian
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Heidi Abbey Moyer
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Available for in-person and Zoom appointments for Fall 2024
Website
Top Picks
Contemporary Musicians by ISBN: 1414497091Publication Date: 1989-presentThis ongoing series provides biographical information on more than 3,600 important figures in today's musical arena. After entering the site, use the search box on the right side of the page to look up individuals by name or genre.
Hip Hop Around the World: an Encyclopedia [2 Volumes] by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780313357596Publication Date: 2018Covers all aspects of international hip hop as expressed through music, art, fashion, dance, and political activity.
St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture by Call Number: onlineISBN: 1410380815Publication Date: 2018Examines the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture"
Icons of Hip Hop by ISBN: 0313084386Publication Date: 2007In-depth coverage of important hip-hop artists that were active up to about 2005.
Hip Hop in America: A Regional Guide by ISBN: 0313343217Publication Date: 2009The essays in this source cover the growth of hip hop culture in 24 specific cities across the nation.
The Cambridge Companion to Hip-Hop by ISBN: 1107643864Publication Date: 2015Written by renowned scholars and industry professionals, this book covers the 'four elements' of hip-hop - MCing, DJing, break dancing (or breakin'), and graffiti - in addition to related topics such as religion, theatre, film, gender, and politics.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowBrief, reliable information about all areas of knowledge. Addresses aspects of hip-hop and rap culture that aren't often found in other sources, such as fashion and marketing.
Other Online Works
- Encyclopedia of Popular MusicMore than 30,000 entries relating to popular music, especially in the United States.
- Grove Music Online (New Grove Dictionary of Music) This link opens in a new windowProvides brief explanations of music terminology, as well as short biographies of pathbreaking artists.
- Oxford African-American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowEnables you to search various Oxford encyclopedias pertaining to African American arts, biography, and history.
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by ISBN: 0199578540Publication Date: 2013The most up-to-date and accessible dictionary of musical terms available. Important if you need to look up the meaning of various musicl terms.
The Oxford Handbook of African American Language by ISBN: 0199795398Publication Date: 2015Provide readers with a wide range of analyses on language use in African American communities. Includes a chapter on hip-hop.
The SAGE Handbook of Popular Music by Call Number: onlineISBN: 1446210855Publication Date: 2015A highly comprehensive and accessible summary of the key aspects of popular music studies.
