Library Guides: HIST 151: Technology and Society in American History (Harrisburg): Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks

Top Picks

American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Life histories of more than 17,000 Americans, including inventors and scientists.
The American National Biography Online offers portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The online version reproduces the full-text of the original 24 volume set published in 1999, with new and updated entries added regularly. The online edition features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Helpful for current scholarly definitions in all areas of science, technology, and other disciplines.
Oxford Reference Online consists of a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations found in dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Traces the history of words. Helpful for finding the earliest appearance and varying definitions of a term.
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
SAGE Reference Online This link opens in a new window
A large collection of social science encyclopedias and handbooks. Many include entries on technology.
A gateway to those SAGE reference publications (encyclopedias and handbooks) Penn State has acquired.