Contact the Librarian at your campus for more help!
University Park / World Campus:
Karla Schmit
(KMS454@psu.edu or 814-863-5521)
Karla Schmit
(KMS454@psu.edu or 814-863-5521)
Berks:
Brett Spencer
(DBS21@psu.edu or 610-396-6261)
Brett Spencer
(DBS21@psu.edu or 610-396-6261)
Erie:
Jane Ingold
(JLI4@psu.edu or 814-898-7278)
Jane Ingold
(JLI4@psu.edu or 814-898-7278)
Harrisburg / World Campus:
Bernadette Lear
(BAL19@psu.edu or 717-948-6360)
Bernadette Lear
(BAL19@psu.edu or 717-948-6360)
SS/WL Search Tips
Use each database's thesaurus or subject headings list to identify the best wording for your topic. For example, ERIC uses:
- Civics, History, Geography, and other specific terms as well as Social Studies
- Developing Nations (not "third world countries")
- Second Language Learning (not "foreign language learning")
Need to find empirical articles? Below is a guide that tells you what they are and how to find them:
Using ProQuest Databases (including ERIC and Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts)
- ERIC: AboutProQuest's detailed guide to using ERIC. Includes explanations, tips, and videos.
- APA PsycINFO: AboutProQuest's detailed guide to using PsycINFO. Includes explanations, tips, and videos.
- Social Science Training MaterialsA gateway to resources for using ProQuest's Social Sciences databases.
- ProQuest VideoProQuest's YouTube channel. Includes videos about its products, and about database research in general.
Using EBSCO databases (including America: History and Life)
- EBSCO Product HelpA gateway to resources for using EBSCO databases.
- EBSCO Tutorials (on YouTube)EBSCO's playlist of database tutorials.
Using Penn State and General Search Tools
- LionSearch TutorialsHow to use LionSearch, Penn State's federated search engine, which enables you to tap the library catalog and most journal databases simultaneously.
- Online Students Use of the LibraryAlthough this guide is intended for Penn State World Campus students, it's a helpful orientation for anyone who is doing most of their research off-campus.
- How to GuidesPenn State's library tutorials. They cover a wide variety of research-related skills.
- Google Scholar Search TipsAdvice for using Google's search engine for journal articles.
- JSTOR Support > StudentsJSTOR's student page is helpful for any user.
- JSTOR on YouTubeVideos from JSTOR's support team.