Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Studies and World Languages Education

Links to databases and resources for social studies and world language education, with a focus on PreK-12. Also helpful for elementary and secondary teachers of civics, economics, "foreign" languages, history, geography, and related topics.

Finding Children's Literature at Penn State

Many Penn State libraries have children's and young adult literature, sometimes called "Juvenile Literature." Age/grade levels, genres, and other focuses of these collections vary depending on each campus's needs. 

To search children's/YA materials at Penn State libraries:

  • Use the CAT, Penn State's online catalog.
  • In the "Keyword" box, type in your topic, such as "cows" or "rockets," and click on the blue "search" button.
  • After your results appear, look to the left side of the page, under "Refine search results." 
  • Under "Format," choose "Juvenile Book."
  • If applicable, use the "Campus," "Publication Year," "Genre," and other facets to narrow your search. Your results list will update automatically.
  • Click on the blue "View Availability" button for more details about the book's location. Alternatively, click on the book's title to get more bibliographic details and location details. 
  • Note the "Call number" and "Location" of each item you want.
  • To order an item from another location, click on the blue "I Want It" button.

Juvenile materials are organized by varying methods depending on the location. Before visiting, contact the owning library to learn about opening hours, borrowing rules, etc. 

Finding Instructional Materials at Penn State

Several Penn State libraries have collections of PreK-12 instructional materials, including curriculum standards, school textbooks, activity guides, educational games, manipulatives, and more. 

To search instructional materials at Penn State libraries:

  • Use the CAT, Penn State's online catalog.
  • In the "Keyword" box, type in your topic, such as "language arts" or "science," and click on the blue "search" button.
  • After your results appear, look to the left side of the page, under "Refine search results." 
  • Under "Format," choose "Instructional Material."
  • If applicable, use the "Campus," "Publication Year," and other facets to narrow your search. Your results list will update automatically.
  • Click on the blue "View Availability" button for more details about the book's location. Alternatively, click on the book's title to get more bibliographic details and location details. 
  • Note the "Call number" and "Location" of each item you want.
  • To order an item from another location, click on the blue "I Want It" button.

Instructional materials are cataloged, organized, and loaned by varying methods depending on the location. Before visiting, contact the owning library to learn about opening hours, borrowing rules, etc.

Instructional Materials Collections

Video Resources

Finding Materials in Languages Other Than English

Among Penn State campuses, University Park has the largest collection of children's books in languages other than English. 

To search for children's/YA materials in Chinese, French, Spanish, and other world languages:

  • Use the CAT, Penn State's online catalog
  • In the "Keyword" box, type in your topic and click on the blue "search" button.
  • After your results appear, look to the left side of the page, under "Refine search results." 
  • Under "Language," choose the language you prefer. 
  • If applicable, use the "Campus," "Publication Year," and other facets to narrow your search. Your results list will update automatically.
  • Click on the blue "View Availability" button for more details about the items location. Alternatively, click on the book's title to get more bibliographic details and location details. 
  • Note the "Call number" and "Location" of each item you want.
  • To order an item from another location, click on the blue "I Want It" button.
  • Non-English materials are cataloged, organized, and loaned by varying methods depending on the location. Before visiting, contact the owning library to learn about opening hours, borrowing rules, etc.

The Education and Behavioral Sciences Library at University shelves non-English books under the following call number ranges: 

  • PZ10.72-78 Arabic
  • PZ10.82-88 Chinese
  • PZ21-28 French
  • PZ31-38 German
  • PZ41-48 Italian
  • PZ49.2-49.22 Japanese
  • PZ50.52-58 Korean
  • PZ51-54.3 Danish/Norwegian
  • PZ61-68 Russian
  • PZ71-78 Spanish
  • PZ81-88 Portuguese