Example
Searching for Books
Conducting a simple search of "infant self-awareness" in the University Libraries' Catalog results in discovering a book ideal for my research paper. It's helpful to start with a broad search and narrow as you go along.
Searching for Articles
In the PsycINFO database, conducting a search for "infant self-awareness" results in several relevant journal articles. Reading the abstract helps to determine whether an article fits my research question or falls outside of its scope.
Once I have gathered articles from this database, I can repeat the process in other databases to find different journal articles. It's wise to gather more articles than needed because as you read the articles you may find that some do not fit your specific research topic as well as you originally thought they did.
2. Discover
Searching for Scholarly Information
- Start by using the University Libraries' Catalog to search for scholarly books on your research topic. Book chapters will cover a topic in a broader scope than research articles to give you a more holistic understanding. Note, you do not have to use an entire book but can cite each chapter you use as a separate scholarly source.
- Using databases specific to disciplinary aspects of Human Development and Family Studies, search for journal articles to continue your research. Journal articles focus on highly specific research studies conducted by experts.
- Search for public research sources by using the websites of reputable institutions and associations such as the Pew Research Center, Child Trends, and the United States Census.
Resources for Finding Scholarly Sources
University Libraries' Catalog for Books
- Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new windowSearch the Catalog for scholarly books. Most catalog records will list the table of contents to help you determine if a chapter fits your research question.
Subject-Specific Databases for Journal Articles
- PsycINFO (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe premiere database for research articles in Psychology. This database enables you to search for studies by research methodology, participants' age and gender, and other helpful categories.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database provides coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database contains international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, helpful for sociological and social psychological perspectives.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowPremiere source for Education research. ERIC allows you to search for education levels (such as elementary or secondary) and target audience (such as parents or teachers).
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new windowPremiere database for nursing and allied health research articles. Search results in CINAHL can be refined by evidence-based practice, specific age groups, and other helpful criteria.
Institutions and Associations for Public Research
- Center on the Developing Child at Harvard University"The Center on the Developing Child’s diverse activities align around building an R&D (research and development) platform for science-based innovation, and transforming the policy and practice landscape that supports and even demands change."
- United States Census Bureau"The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy."
- Pew Research Center"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. "
- Child Trends"Child Trends is the nation’s leading research organization focused exclusively on improving the lives of children and youth, especially those who are most vulnerable."
- Mathematica Policy Research"Mathematica is the insight partner that illuminates the path to progress for public- and private-sector changemakers. We apply expertise at the intersection of data, methods, policy, and practice, translating big questions into deep insights that weather the toughest tests. "
- National Institute of Child Health and Human Development"NICHD’s mission is to lead research and training to understand human development, improve reproductive health, enhance the lives of children and adolescents, and optimize abilities for all."
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention"CDC is the Nation’s leading science-based, data-driven, service organization that protects the public’s health."