Library Guides: Public Relations: Articles and Databases

Articles & Databases

Try These First

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- Find full-text scholarly journals & periodicals related to communications and mass media
- Worldwide issues, publishers, and information sources
CMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- Database of periodicals, trade publications and scholarly journals covering all business disciplines
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
- Multi-disciplinary database with full text periodicals, trade publications, peer-reviewed journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, many in PDF format
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

News / Press Releases / Circulation

Newspapers provide important business/company/industry trends. National newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times are important, but so are local newspapers where a company may be headquartered.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- Published news from across the U.S., broascast transcripts and foreign news
- Nexis Uni Tutorials via YouTube:
- How to Use the Advanced Search Form: Useful for choosing just a particular content type (such as news) and automatically adjusting the document segments
- Navigating Your Profile Settings: Necessary to set up alerts, create a history of searches and customize settings
- How to Search from the Home Page: General search techniques
- How to Select Sources and Create Permalinks: Helps to narrow your search and easily create links for later use
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
NewsFinder This link opens in a new window
- Determine which databases cover particular newspapers
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.
SRDS Media Planning Platform This link opens in a new window
- Use this to determine circulation and page rates for different media, such as newspapers, magazines, and various websites.
Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access. VPN information for remote users. SRDS provides a number of different advertising sources covering: television, radio, newspapers,and consumer and business publications.

Penn State University Libraries

Public Relations

Related Guides

Contact

Librarians

Articles & Databases