Tombros Librarian for Classics & Humanities
Online Reference
- Philosophy - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowCompiled by experts in their fields, these selective annotated bibliographies in philosophy offer introductions and outline the essential readings for a given author or subject.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowDynamic, refereed reference work covering philosophical terms, theories, and philosophers.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy by
Research on medieval philosophy has advanced greatly in the last thirty years, but there has not been a comprehensive encyclopedia summarizing the current research available. This two-volume reference work fills that void. The Encyclopedia of Medieval Philosophy covers all areas of philosophy in the Middle Ages and part of the Renaissance, ranging from 500 to 1500 CE. It contains general entries on medieval philosophers and medieval philosophies and on the key terms and concepts in the subject area, but it also provides more in-depth details and analyses of particular theories. Furthermore, in order to gain an insight into the social and cultural context of the material, entries are included on the teaching of philosophy, the career of philosophers, and the place of philosophy within the universities. Complete with cross-references between key words and related essays to enable efficient searches, this Encyclopedia is exhaustive, unprecedented, and user-friendly. It is indispensable for scholars of medieval philosophy and of the history of ideas, and it is also useful for anyone interested in medieval ideas and thought.
ISBN: 9781402097294Publication Date: 2011-03-08
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by
Oxford University Press presents a major new edition of the definitive philosophical reference work for readers at all levels. For ten years the original volume has served as a stimulating introduction for general readers and as an indispensable guide for students; its breadth and depth of coverage have ensured that it is also read with pleasure and interest by those working at a higher level in philosophy and related disciplines. A distinguished international assembly of 249 philosophers contributed almost 2,000 entries, and many of these have now been considerably revised and updated; to these are added over 300 brand-new pieces on a fascinating range of current topics. This new edition offers enlightening and enjoyable discussions of all aspects of philosophy, and of the lives and work of the great philosophers from antiquity to the present day.
ISBN: 9780199264797Publication Date: 2005-05-26
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by ISBN: 9780028657806Publication Date: 2006Comprehensive English-language reference source for philosophy.
Print Sources
American Philosophy by
The Encyclopedia of American Philosophy provides coverage of the major figures, concepts, historical periods and traditions in American philosophical thought. Containing over 600 entries written by scholars who are experts in the field, this Encyclopedia is the first of its kind. It is a scholarly reference work that is accessible to the ordinary reader by explaining complex ideas in simple terms and providing ample cross-references to facilitate further study. The Encyclopedia of American Philosophy contains a thorough analytical index and will serve as a standard, comprehensive reference work for universities and colleges. Topics covered include: Great philosophers: Emerson, Dewey, James, Royce, Peirce, Santayana Subjects: Pragmatism, Progress, the Future, Knowledge, Democracy, Growth, Truth Influences on American Philosophy: Hegel, Aristotle, Plato, British Enlightenment, Reformation Self-Assessments: Joe Margolis, Donald Davidson, Susan Haack, Peter Hare, John McDermott, Stanley Cavell Ethics: Value, Pleasure, Happiness, Duty, Judgment, Growth Political Philosophy: Declaration of Independence, Democracy, Freedom, Liberalism, Community, Identity
ISBN: 9780415939263Publication Date: 2007-12-07
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy by
The only encyclopedia in English specific to the field of Classical Philosophy, this work contains over 250 articles on major and minor figures and topics by leading scholars.
ISBN: 0313287759Publication Date: 1997-06-30
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is the most ambitious international philosophy project in many years. Edited by Edward Craig and assisted by thirty specialist subject editors, the REP consists of ten volumes of the world's most eminent philosophers writing for the needs of students and teachers of philosophy internationally. The REP is a project on an unparalleled scale: Over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length - thematic, biographical and national 10 volumes consisting of over 5 million words of text plus considerable bibliographic material A Chief Editor and thirty specialist Subject Editors from across the world Over 1200 authors from all over the world. The importance of the REP is not to be found just in the sheer size of the project but also in its breadth of subject matter. It covers: The core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions The usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy The philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America The most impressive range of authors have been gathered together on this unique project: William Alston, Roderick Chisolm, Fred Dretske, Joel Feinberg, Sandra Harding, Larry Laudan, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Popkin, Richard Rorty, Alan Ryan, Gyatri Chakravorty Spivak, Stephen Stich, Patrick Suppes and Bernard Williams, to name just a few. Also available online: www.rep.routledge.com
ISBN: 0415073103Publication Date: 1998-05-26
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by
Widely acclaimed as the most authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary available in English (and now with translations into Chinese, Korean, Russian, Italian, and Spanish underway) this second edition offers an even richer, more comprehensive, and more up-to-date survey of ideas and thinkers written by an international team of 436 contributors. Includes the most comprehensive entries on major philosophers, 400 new entries including over 50 on preeminent contemporary philosophers, extensive coverage of rapidly developing fields such as the philosophy of mind and applied ethics, more entries on non-Western philosophy than any comparable volume, and increased coverage of Continental philosophy.
ISBN: 0521637228Publication Date: 1999-09-28
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Philosophy by
Expanding the Thoemmes Dictionaries of British Philosophers with hundreds of newly commissioned entries, CEBP is the first comprehensive reference work devoted to philosophy in Britain. Besides biographical entries on the lives and works of individual thinkers, it incorporates major historical surveys of the core philosophical topics, mini factual entries to facilitate reference, and detailed entries on themes, movements, institutions, journals, influences and theories through the ages. With sophisticated cross-referencing and indexing, and available in print and electronic formats, the Encyclopedia brings together 2,500 entries contributed by over 500 international experts. It is a unique resource for students and specialists to tap into the development and transmission of philosophical ideas over time, across disciplines, and to and from other countries. Under the general editorship of A.C. Grayling, Andrew Pyle and Naomi Goulder, the Encyclopedia employs a broad construal of 'philosophy' in line with historical usage. Its biographical entries include writers on philosophical topics whose particular contributions are small (e.g. writers of textbooks or minor critics of major figures) and on whom it is often the only source of information, as well as celebrated figures from other intellectual domains (e.g. poets, mathematicians, scientists and clergymen) whose work is of philosophical consequence. Its subject entries are clear and authoritative, not hesitating to trace concepts from beginnings in science or religion through diverse incarnations into later traditions. Brought together for the first time, with extensive new scholarship, the Encyclopedia is a source of continuities,connections and paths for future inquiry. It will be a highly important database for teaching and research in philosophy, as well as in history, science, literature, religion, politics, psychology, sociology and economics.
ISBN: 1843711419Publication Date: 2006-06-28
Biographical
One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers by
One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers offers biographical information and critical analysis of the life, work and impact of some of the most significant figures in philosophy this century. Taken from the acclaimed Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers, the 100 entries are alphabetically organised, from Adorno to Zhang Binglin, and cover individuals from both continental and analytic philosophy. The entries have an identical four-part structure making it easy to compare and contrast information, comprising: * biographical details * a bibliography of major works * a listing of relevant secondary and critical literature * an appraisal of the philosopher's thoughts and achievements. A separate glossary provides an introduction to the origins, development and main features of major philosophical schools and movements and offers select bibliographies to guide the reader to further research.
ISBN: 0415179963Publication Date: 1998-05-06
World Philosophers and Their Works by
This masterwork covers 231 alphabetically arranged philosophers with biographical detail and representative works, and over 160 photos and illustrations, from ancient Greek and Chinese thinkers to contemporary philosophers such as Holocaust survivor Elie Wiesel. Students and general readers will gain a perspective on the development of philosophical thought from 900 B.C.E to modern times. Each chapter contains a biographical essay, followed by one or more overviews of representative works, and ends with an annotated bibliography providing suggestions for additional reading. These philosophers and works are most frequently taught at the secondary and undergraduate levels, commonly referenced either directly or indirectly in our daily lives, and considered by both scholars and well-read laypersons to be among the most influential of all time. World Philosophers and Their Works not only covers Western philosophers-from the Greeks, including Plato and Aristotle, through modern thinkers such as Paul M. Churchland, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Annette C. Baier-but also examines philosophical standouts from Asian and African cultures. The chronological range of coverage extends from ancient Chinese texts to great modern influences on contemporary thought.
ISBN: 0893568783Publication Date: 2000-02-01
The Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century British Philosophers by
This is a comprehensive reference source on 18th-century authors writing in the English language about philosophical ideas and issues. It features authors taken from 1689 through to the mid-19th century, the period beginning with John Locke and ending with Dugald Stewart. The word philosophical is used in a wide, 18th-century sense. Therefore, the Dictionary includes epistemology, ethics, aesthetics, education, politics, rhetoric, science, medicine, biology, geology, chemistry and theology.
ISBN: 1855061236Publication Date: 1999-01-01
