Library Guides: International Population Census: General Statistics

International Goverment Organizations

UN Statistics Division
Policy and statistical intergovernmental agency coordinating Census gathering within the United Nations.

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) This link opens in a new window
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) is a unique forum of governments of 34 democracies.
Full-text books and serial publications from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Also includes research reports and policy papers as well as briefs. For statistics and data explore the OECD Data Explorer found in the library databases.

Eurostat, European Commission
Central statistical coordinating unit for the European Commission.
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)
Works with countries in Southeast Asia to coordinate statistical gathering and creation of comparative products.
Afristat Data Portal
AfriStat is the principle organization. Their publications are primarily available in French with limited English content. The Portal is accessible in English.
North Atlantic Treaty Organization [NATO]
Group of countries primarily with common military agreements.
International Organizations and Groups [CIA World Factbook]
alphabetical list of international organizations and groups. Useful for basic information about a group, including member countries.
Governments on the WWW: Multi-Governmental Organizations
list compiled by Gunnar Anzinger. Note: last updated in 2003.
International Programs Database (US Census)
US Census provides this data resources using comparative data from other countries.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Principle intergovernmental agency coordinating collection of education data from countries.
International Labor Organization (ILO)
Primary intergovernmental organization coordinating the collection of labor and work related data from countries.
Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) Statistics
Primary intergovernmental agency coordinating statistics gathering for agricultural data from countries.
World Bank Data portal
The World Bank's open data initiative puts their data freely out on the web
World Health Organization Data
Global and country health data
International Monetary Fund

CIS national statistical compendiums [microform]
Access to a microfiche collection of statistical yearbooks and compendia. Look at the "detailed information" tab to see countries.

United Nations Demographic Yearbook
The United Nations Demographic Yearbook collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948.