Library Guides: International Law: International Law: Jurisdictions

Global Jursidictions

JuriGlobe [World Legal Systems research Group]
By the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa. Contains information relating to the different legal systems in the world
World Legal Information Institute
Free, independent, and non-profit access to worldwide law from 123 jurisdictions via 14 legal information institutes.

Foreign Law Guide This link opens in a new window
Offers relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination. Covers approximately 190 jurisdictions.
Foreign Law Guide is a comprehensive resource which provides essential information on primary and secondary sources of law for many foreign jurisdictions. It provides the researcher with complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations whenever possible, and selected references to secondary sources in English. It is arranged by country and includes an introduction to the legal system of that country and lists the codes, session laws, and court reports available in print and on the Internet. Each country also contains a section arranged by subject that outlines the major laws for the subject and provides references to English translations, when available.

LEGISLATION [The World Law Guide]
A useful resource for links to legislation, courts and decisions and other legal information from various jurisdictions around the world. Not currently updated.
Law Library of Congress
Prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, this is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
Law by Source: Global [Legal Information Institute, Cornell University]
World legal materials by country and continent of Internet-accessible sources of constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the Legal Information Institute's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International law.
GlobaLex [Huaser Global Law School Program]
An electronic legal publication dedicated to foreign law research. Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at the NYU School of Law. Covers 154 countries and jurisdictions as well as a wide array of subjects in International Law.
Research Note: Use International Law Research to search by subject. Use Foreign Law Research to search by jurisdiction.

Europe

Common portal of case law [Network of the Presidents of the Supreme Judicial Courts of the European Union]
Simultaneously queries several search engines to search for the national legislation of all 22 European Union member States.
EUR-Lex: Access to European Union law
European Union law, other public EU documents, and the electronic Official Journal of the EU in 24 languages. Also see the Law [European Union] section of the European Union website.
Legislationline [Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)]
A source for national legislation of OSCE member states on human dimension issues, including, but not limited to, Administrative Justice, Anti-Discrimination, Citizenship, Elections, Counter-Terrorism, Gender, Migration, Trafficking, Freedom of Assembly, Freedom of Association, Access to Information and Data Protection, Death Penalty, Fair Trial, Independence of the Judiciary, Hate Crimes, Freedom of Religion, and National Human Rights Institutions. Many, but not all, of the laws are translated into English.
Council of Europe Treaty Office
Text of all Council of Europe treaties, their explanatory reports, the status of signatures and ratifications, the declarations and reservations made by States, as well as the notifications issued by the Treaty Office since 2005.

The Americas

Multilateral Treaties & Bilateral Agreements [OAS]
Treaties and Agreements deposited with the Secretariat for Legal Affairs of the Organization of American States.

Asia

Asian Law Online [University of Melbourne]
A collection of English-language materials on Asian laws. Includes books, book chapters, journal articles and theses. The Bibliographic Database allows only two concurrent users.
Asian Legal Information Institute
A single search interface delivering a collection of Asian laws from 28 Asian jurisdictions by 8 Legal Information Institutes through 311 databases

Australia

Australasian Legal Information Institute
A joint facility of University of Tasmania and the University Of New South Wales Faculties Of Law. Contains 562 databases from all Australasian jurisdictions.

Britain and The Commonwealth

Commonwealth Legal Information Institute
A single search portal containing core legal information from all 60 Commonwealth and common law jurisdictions.
British and Irish Legal Information Institute
Free access to British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material.

Africa

SAFLII [Southern African Legal Information Institute]
SAFLII collects and publishes legal materials from Southern and Eastern Africa including superior court judgments from Botswana, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe, and a consolidated collection of Uganda legislation and Lesotho case law.

United States

Restatement of the law. Foreign relations law of the United States
This Restatement consists of international law as it applies to the United States, and domestic law that has substantial impact on the foreign relations of the United States or has other important international consequences. For the most part, the domestic component of the law restated in the book is federal law, deriving mainly from the Constitution, acts of Congress, and judicial decisions. The international law restated stems largely from customary international law and international agreements to which the United States is a party.

Treaties, Conventions, International Acts, Protocols and Agreements (Malloy) Volumess 1-4 (1776-1937) [HeinOnline]
Treaties, conventions, international acts, protocols and agreements between the United States of America and other powers, 1776-1937 (Vol. 1-4). Prepared under the direction of the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate.
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America 1776-1949 (Bevans) [HeinOnline]
Find multilateral treaties as well as treaties between the U.S. and individual countries
U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements (1950-1984) U.S. Department of State
Until 1950, U.S. treaties appeared regularly in U.S. Statutes at Large. Beginning in 1950, treaties and executive agreements have been published in a chronological series called United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST). UST includes the text of each treaty in the languages of the signatories. Although several volumes are typically published each year, at present UST is well-behind schedule in publishing the most-current treaty actions of the United States. HeinOnline includes all published volumes of the UST series.
TIAS Agreements [Treaties and International Acts Series] (1982 to the present)
The first official publication of U.S. treaties and international agreements is through the Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS), which is a series of consecutively numbered, individually paginated pamphlets containing the texts of agreements in English and other official languages of the agreement. After appearing in TIAS in slip form, U.S. treaties and international agreements are published in bound volumes of United States Treaties and Other International Agreements.
Kav Agreements (1987 to the present) [Kavass, Igor I., compiler]
U.S. treaties and executive agreements since 1950 not published in UST or TIAS. Documents are assigned KAV numbers. Most KAV documents will eventually be published in UST or TIAS.
Treaties in Force (1929-2020)
Treaties in Force (TIF) is an indexing tool for starting research on in-force treaties and agreements. Published annually by the Department of State since 1955, TIF provides a brief summary of all treaties and other international agreements, both bilateral and multilateral, which are considered to be in force for the United States as of January of the respective year. Bilateral treaties are arranged by country and grouped into subjects under each country, while multilateral treaties are arranged by subject. HeinOnline includes all previously published volumes of TIF.
Treaties in Force [U.S. Department of State]
Provides information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party as of January 1st in its most recent publication year.
Kavass's Guide to the United States Treaties in Force [1982-present]
Edited by Igor I. Kavass, Guide to the United States Treaties in Force is designed to be used in conjunction with Treaties in Force (TIF) and provides access points well beyond those found in Treaties in Force.
Digest of United States Practice in International Law (1989-present)
The Office of the Legal Adviser publishes the annual Digest of United States Practice in International Law to provide the public with a historical record of the views and practice of the Government of the United States in public and private international law.
American Society of International Law (ASIL)
Resources and publications for the study of international law.