Your Librarian
Bernadette Lear
she/her/hers/Ms.
Contact:
LIB 301B
Penn State Harrisburg Library
351 Olmsted Dr.
Middletown, PA 17057
Penn State Harrisburg Library
351 Olmsted Dr.
Middletown, PA 17057
(717) 948-6360
Subjects: Adult Education and Workforce Education, Applied Behavior Analysis, Campus: Harrisburg, Community Psychology and Social Change, Education, Education: Organization, Development, and Change / Training and Development, Health, Health Education, Kinesiology, Exercise, and Sport Science, Nursing, Psychology
History of Education Search Tips
Use each database's thesaurus or subject headings list to identify the best wording for your topic. For example, ERIC uses:
- Educational History (NOT "history of education")
- Coeducation, or Single Sex Colleges (NOT "women's colleges")
- One Teacher Schools, or Small Schools (NOT "one room schoolhouses")
- Racial Integration, as well as School Desegregation
When using primary source databases, and other databases that have significant historical content, look at the "Advanced Search," or ways to "Refine" your search, to narrow results by date and/or geography.
Using ProQuest Databases (including Periodicals Archive Online)
-
ProQuest Platform LibGuideIncludes tip sheets, videos, and more!
-
Social Science Training MaterialsA gateway to resources for using ProQuest's Social Sciences databases.
-
Searching with the ERIC ProQuest ThesaurusLearn how to look up subject headings in the ERIC thesaurus to more powerfully search for relevant works. Transcript available below video as attachment.
-
Saving your searches in ProQuest ERICSave your searches in ERIC to document and return to them for later use. Transcript available below video as attachment.
-
Exporting search results from ERIC ProQuestExport your search results from ProQuest ERIC in .csv format to further analyze and annotate records. Transcript available below video as attachment.
Using EBSCO Databases (including America: History and Life)
-
EBSCO Product HelpA gateway to resources for using EBSCO databases.
-
EBSCO Tutorials (on YouTube)EBSCO's playlist of database tutorials.
Using Penn State and General Search Tools
-
Online Students Use of the LibraryAlthough this guide is intended for Penn State World Campus students, it's a helpful orientation for anyone who is doing most of their research off-campus.
-
How to GuidesPenn State's library tutorials. They cover a wide variety of research-related skills.
-
Google Scholar Search TipsAdvice for using Google's search engine for journal articles.
-
JSTOR Support > StudentsJSTOR's student page is helpful for any user.
-
JSTOR on YouTubeVideos from JSTOR's support team.