Ellysa Stern Cahoy, Distinguished Librarian, Education Library, and Director, the Pennsylvania Center for the Book
Ellysa Cahoy
Contact:
502A Paterno Library
University Park, 16802
University Park, 16802
814-865-9696
Subjects: Adult Education and Workforce Education, Campus: University Park, Counselor Education, Education, Education: Organization, Development, and Change / Training and Development, Education: Policy and Leadership, Educational Psychology / School Psychology, Higher Education, International and Comparative Education, Learning Design and Technology, Library and Information Studies
Primary Sources: Introduction
Penn State subscribes to a vast number of primary source databases. In addition to the resources listed below, check the Primary Sources section of the History subject guide, or consult with Education librarian Ellysa Cahoy (ellysa@psu.edu).
Primary Sources: Books
-
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans Digital Edition This link opens in a new windowBooks and other publications produced in the American colonies and the early United States (1639-1800).
-
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 This link opens in a new windowContinues Early American Imprints Series I.
-
Nietz Collection of 19th Century SchoolbooksFull text of more than 140 historical textbooks, including McGuffey's Readers, Osgood's Spellers, and Webster's American Spelling Book.
-
Google Book SearchContains full-text for many books published before 1923. An excellent resource for historical materials
Primary Sources: Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
-
American Periodicals Series (1740-1900) [full page reproduction] This link opens in a new windowHistorically-significant magazines and journals from the 1740s through 1900.
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new windowUseful for finding older articles about Education in popular magazines.
-
New York Times Historical (available from 1851) [full page reproduction] This link opens in a new windowSearches the New York Times back to 1851.
Primary Sources: Images and Video
-
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)Millions of texts, images, videos, and other historical material from dozens of U.S. libraries.
-
Library of Congress Digital CollectionsThe Library of Congress is America's largest library and has many of the nation's most important collections of primary sources. Check here for materials that have been digitized.
-
American History in Video (North America) This link opens in a new windowArchival and documentary films, including some on education/schools.
-
Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968-present) This link opens in a new windowNetwork evening news from ABC, CBS, Fox, NBC, and other national news networks. Covers the late 1960s through the present.
Primary Sources: U.S. Government Documents
-
Congressional This link opens in a new windowA source for U.S. government documents, including hearings, laws, and reports.
-
Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Digital Collection 1789-1969) This link opens in a new windowContains reports from U.S. executive agencies and departments, including the Bureau/Department of Education.
Primary Sources: Archival Collections
-
History Vault This link opens in a new windowHelpful for topics that link Education with civil rights, such as education access for African Americans or women. Includes records of the NAACP, the National Women's Party, and other organizations.
-
Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (Gerritsen) This link opens in a new windowFull-text books, articles, and other documents pertaining to women's rights, including access to Education.
-
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowHelpful for identifying primary sources in archives throughout the world