an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.
Select the scholarly and peer review limit on the left to focus your search.
Penn State account not required to search, but is necessary to see the full text of online articles.
articles in all aspects of agriculture and nutrition
CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors. CAB Direct also includes a Global Health section which covers international and public health, including bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology and public and rural health.
core articles in all subject areas and the ability to see who is citing older articles.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.
information on livestock and poultry breeds, diseases, pathogens, foodborne contaminants and food animal products.
Contains information on livestock and poultry breeds, diseases, pathogens, foodborne contaminants and food animal products. As well as over 135,000 bibliographic records updated weekly and over 13,000 Library and full text journal and conference articles.
datasheets on pests, diseases, natural enemies and crops.
Contains over 3400 detailed datasheets on pests, diseases, natural enemies and crops, and basic information on a further 20,000 species. This is supported by the latest scientific findings with bibliographic records and Full Text journal and conference articles updated weekly.
applied, multidisciplinary information resources for researchers, consultants, growers, pesticide applicators, and other professionals involved in the management of large and small crops. Includes images.
The Plant Management Network is a unique cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Designed to provide plant science practitioners fast electronic access to proven solutions, the Plant Management Network offers an extensive searchable database comprised of thousands of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations.
current public policy issues emphasizing factual and statistical information
This resource covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976.
Biomedical research, including nutrition, environmental health, nursing, and public health. Penn State account not required. but non Penn Staters should use this link: PubMed
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/pubmed.html. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html