Library Guides: Empirical Research in the Social Sciences and Education: Finding Empirical Research in Library Databases

Introduction

Empirical research is published in books and in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. However, most library databases do not offer straightforward ways to locate empirical research. Below are tips for some of Penn State's most popular Education and Behavioral/Social Sciences databases. If you need further help, contact a Librarian at your location.

Finding Empirical Research in LionSearch

LionSearch This link opens in a new window

LionSearch does not have a method for locating empirical research. Using "empirical" as a keyword will find some studies, but miss many others. Consider using one of the more specialized databases below.

Finding Empirical Research in PsycINFO (ProQuest version, for Psychology topics)

PsycINFO (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

To find empirical articles in PsycINFO (ProQuest version):

Use the "Advanced Search"
Type your keywords into the search boxes
Scroll down the page to "Methodology," and choose "Empirical Study"
Choose other limits, such as publication date, if needed
Click on the "Search" button

Finding Empirical Research in ERIC (ProQuest version, for Education topics)

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.

ERIC (ProQuest version) does not have a simple method to locate empirical research. Using "empirical" as a keyword will find some studies, but miss others. For empirical materials dating from the 1970s through about 2020, one technique is to search for "Research Reports":

Use the "Advanced Search"
Type your keywords into the search boxes
Scroll down the page to "Document Type," and choose "143 Reports: Research"
Choose other limits, such as publication date, if needed
Click on the "Search" button

If you prefer scholarly journals, look to the left side of the results screen. Under "Source Type," choose "Scholarly Journals."

An alternative technique that works with older and new materials to use terminology recommended by the ERIC thesaurus. Some useful keywords are:

Action Research
Case Studies
Content Analysis
Data Analysis
Ethnography
Evaluation Methods
Evaluation Research
Experiments
Focus Groups
Field Studies
Interviews
Longitudinal Studies
Mail Surveys
Mixed Methods Research
Naturalistic Observation
Online Surveys
Participant Observation
Participatory Research
Qualitative Research
Questionnaires
Research
Statistical Analysis
Statistical Studies
Statistical Surveys
Telephone Surveys
Use Studies

Finding Empirical Research in Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest version)

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest version) does not have a simple method to locate empirical research. Using "empirical" as a keyword will find some studies, but miss others. Consider using terminology recommended by the Sociological Abstracts thesaurus. Some useful keywords are:

Action Research
Archival Research
Case Studies
Content Analysis
Discourse Analysis
Ethnography
Experiments
Fieldwork
Grounded Theory
Interviews
Longitudinal Studies
Models
Observation
Oral History
Qualitative Research
Quantitative Analysis
Research
Surveys

Finding Empirical Research in Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO version)

Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of articles from the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, as well as books and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.

Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO version) does not have a simple method to locate empirical research. Using "empirical" as a keyword will find some studies, but miss others. Consider using terminology recommended by the Criminal Justice Abstracts subject index. Some useful keywords are:

Case Studies
Empirical Research
Interviews
Qualitative Research
Quantitative Research
Surveys
Research

Finding Empirical Research in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest version)

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of February 2004 approximately 1,432 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list will continue to grow.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest version) does not have a simple method to locate empirical research. Using "empirical" as a keyword will find some studies, but miss others. Consider using terminology recommended by the Worldwide Political Science Abstracts thesaurus. Some useful keywords are:

Case Studies
Ethnography
Evaluation
Experiments
Fieldwork
Interviews
Longitudinal Studies
Mail Surveys
Models
Oral History
Participant Observation
Public Opinion Research
Qualitative Research
Quantitative Analysis
Questionnaires
Surveys
Telephone Surveys

Finding Empirical Research in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest version)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest version) does not have a simple method to locate empirical research. Using "empirical" as a keyword will find some studies, but miss others. Consider using terminology recommended by the LLBA thesaurus. Some useful keywords are:

Action Research
Case Studies
Computer Modeling and Simulation
Fieldwork
Interviews
Longitudinal Studies
Qualitative Research
Quantitative Analysis
Statistical Analysis
Surveys

Finding Empirical Research in CINAHL (EBSCO version, for Nursing and Allied Health topics)

CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new window
One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles in addition to citations for book chapters, nursing dissertations, association publications, educational software, conference proceedings and selected full-text for state nursing journal articles, legal cases, patient education material, research instruments, standards of practice, critical paths, nurse practice acts, drugs, clinical innovations and government publications. References for alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship are also included. Coverage: 1982 - Present. Updates: Monthly.

CINAHL (EBSCO version) does not have a simple method to locate empirical research. Using "empirical" as a keyword will find some studies, but miss others. Consider using terminology recommended by the CINAHL Subject Headings list. Some useful keywords are:

Action Research
Clinical Trials
Empirical Research
Ethnographic Research
Experimental Studies
Naturalistic Inquiry
Nonexperimental Studies
One-Shot Case Study
Phenomenological Research
Qualitative Studies
Quantitative Studies
Randomized Controlled Trials
Time and Motion Studies

An alternative technique is to search for "evidence-based practice" items. However, this method tends to find meta-analyses and systematic reviews that combine the results of numerous studies, rather than the original studies such literature reviews are based upon.

Use the "Advanced Search"
Type your keywords into the search boxes
Under "Limit your results," check off "Evidence-Based Practice"
Choose other limits, such as published date, if needed
Click on the "Search" button

Finding Empirical Research in PubMed (NIH version, for health topics)

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html

There are 2 ways to find empirical articles in PubMed (NIH version):

One technique is to limit your search results after you perform a search:

Type in your keywords and click on the "Search" button
To the left of your results, under "Article Types," check off the types of studies that interest you

Another alternative is to construct a more sophisticated search:

From PubMed's main screen, click on "Advanced" link underneath the search box
On the Advanced Search Builder screen type your keywords into the search boxes
Change one of the empty boxes from "All Fields" to "Publication Type"
To the right of Publication Type, click on "Show Index List" and choose a methodology that interests you. You can choose more than one by holding down the "Ctrl" or "⌘" on your keyboard as you click on each methodology
Click on the "Search" button

Penn State University Libraries

Empirical Research in the Social Sciences and Education

Contact the Librarian at your campus for more help!