Library Guides: Empirical Research in the Social Sciences and Education: Designing Empirical Research

Designing Empirical Research (eBooks only)

Start with:

SAGE Project Planner
A tutorial that guides you through all aspects of designing an original research project, from defining a topic, to reviewing the literature, to collecting data, to writing and sharing your results.

SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
A collection of encyclopedias, handbooks, and other materials for designing Education, Behavioral Sciences, and Social Sciences Research. Use the search box to find information on specific methods, or use the "Methods Map" to explore related methodologies.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. SAGE Research Methods contains content from more than 640 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire Little Green Book, and Little Blue Book series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and newly commissioned videos. Our access is to: SRM Core Update 2020-2025; SRM Cases (includes updates through 2025); SRM Cases 2.

SpringerLink eBooks
Although Springer is better known for publishing in the life sciences, it offers a growing collection of social science materials. To find research methods books, type research* OR method* into the search box. Then, under "Discipline," click on "See All," and choose your topic of interest.

PsycTESTS (formerly listed as APA PsycTests®) This link opens in a new window
Helps you identify questionnaires and tests to use in your research.
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Provides video tutorials data analysis and statistical software.
Lynda.com, Inc. offers over a thousand video tutorials on leading software topics like Microsoft Office, Adobe Creative Suite, SQL, Drupal, audio and video editing applications, ColdFusion, operating systems, and many more. These high-quality tutorials are taught by industry experts and available 24/7 for convenient, self-paced learning.

Office for Research Protections
Ensures that research at Penn State is conducted in accordance with federal, state, and local regulations and guidelines that protect human participants, animals, students, and personnel.
Research Data Services
Provides consultation on data, geospatial, statistical, and other research questions.
Statistical Consulting Center
Offers advice on research planning and design, sampling, modeling, analysis, results interpretation, and software.
Institute for State and Regional Affairs, Penn State Harrisburg
Located at Penn State Harrisburg, ISRA includes departments for census, geospatial, and survey research. Services include consultation/training and contract research.