Classic work edited by political economist, Edwin R.A. Seligman. Economic topics, issues, and biography are well represented. Long and short articles contributed by scholars. Originally released 1930-1935.

Although itself now somewhat dated, this is a completely new revision of Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Differences include: mostly revised articles, information on methods, and articles that are more reflective of the interrelations between social sciences and other disciplines. Fewer biographies, but they are longer. Originally released 1965-1972.

This five-volume work is as much a bibliographic overview of the literature of law and economics as it is a source of narrative articles. It is much more international in scope than The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law. Individual volumes cover history and methodology; civil law and economics; regulation of contracts; public and tax law; and crime and litigation.

This is a major resource for American economic history, written by specialists in economics. It presents lengthy essays on major issues, arranged by topic, not by alphabet. It was written for the educated non-specialist.

Covers contemporary economic developments and information about concepts, institutions/organizations, events, and individuals that have shaped the history of economics, business, and labor from the origins of what later became the United States in an earlier age of globalization and the expansion of capitalism through 2013.

Encyclopedia covering major U.S. financial downturns for an event-driven understanding of the evolution of the American economy.

Written for economics students and the general public who need a quick guide to the "lives and ideas of economists of the past". This resource is good for a 2-4 page discussion of each notable's contributions and celebrated works. Secondary sources provide suggestions for additional reading, often pointing to the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Portraits have been included when available.

Similar to Great Economists Before Keynes, but providing a more contemporary selection.

Autobiographical accounts by Nobel laureates.

This directory is published on an occasional basis. It presents biographical data on about 1,000 economists who publish on a regular basis. Information includes current position (as of publishing date), previous positions, degrees received, offices held, honors and prizes received, editorial duties, fields of interest, chief publications, and a statement of principle.