Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SC 120N: Plants, Places, and People

Professor: Allen

Potential Databases

The following databases are just a sample of those available through Penn State Libraries. However, there content should in general be a good fit for the types of sources you need for this project.

Related Subject Guides

Depending on the focus of your project, you might find one of the following subject guides helpful in identifying other potential resources.

Finding the Full Text of Articles

Sometimes, the full text of an article won't be available in the database where you find it. Here are some strategies for locating the Full text.

1. Use the Get It! Penn State Button Get It! Penn State Button

This button is a short cut that allows you to quickly search through our other databases to find the full text.

2. Search Yourself Using Lion Search

Lion Search is the catch-all search that allows you to search all our resources at once. Search for the article's title to see if we have the full text in our collection - make sure you put it in quotes!

3. Request an Interlibrary Loan 

If the "Get It!" button and Lion Search don't come up with the full text - you will see an option to request the full text via Interlibrary Loan. Once you fill out the request, it may take a few days for us to get the full text from another library - you will be notified by your PSU email how to access the full text once it arrives.

Evaluating a Source

When searching for information on the web, it is helpful to keep the following considerations in mind.

  • Where does this information come from? What do I know about the site? Do they give me any information about the sources they are using to create this site?
  • Can I verify this information this source gives me? If they are using outside sources, can I find them myself?
  • Who is the audience for this information? Is it at a level appropriate for a college level project?
  • Am I getting information from a variety of sources? Or, do all my websites link back to the same original source?