Library Guides: SOC 119: Race and Ethnic Relations (PEPP Service-Learning Program): Find Videos

Streaming Video Resources

PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Penn State students can access many of the best PBS documentaries for free. Lots of diversity studies videos.
This collection of more than 1,600 streaming videos provides video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection provides access to one of television’s most trusted networks. Includes episodes from Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and more.
Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Documentaries about race in America and hot educational issues.
Kanopy distributes documentaries, independent and world cinema, and classic and award-winning films from a variety of filmmakers, including the Media Education Foundation. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries. To find out when the license for a Kanopy video expires, contact the Music and Media Center at musiccenter@psu.edu.
Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new window
Includes Films for the Humanities and Sciences, A&E Television Networks, Bill Moyers.
Films Media Group distributes online documentaries from a variety of producers, including Films for the Humanities and Sciences, A&E Television Networks, Bill Moyers, BBC, Cambridge Educational, and Open University. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries.
Docuseek2 Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.
Docuseek2 distributes online documentaries from a variety of filmmakers, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Film Movement, First Run Features, Icarus Films, the National Film Board of Canada, and Women Make Movies. Penn State's subscription includes the complete GOOD DOCS collection. Search for specific titles or browse a list of documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries.

Video on Unintentional Racism at Colleges (PBS Race Matters)

This provocative video looks at how "microaggressions"--unintentional slights that students may experience each day on college campuses--reflect unconscious racism.