It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly journal articles are some of the best types of sources to use in your research paper. Scholarly journal articles are academic articles that present an expert's research (the expert is often a professor at a university). They differ from popular magazine and newspaper articles in several ways. Please open the document below to see the differences between these two types of publications.
Scholarly articles can be intimidating to read and dissect for your college level papers! Use the links below for tips on where to find different pieces of information and how to best approach reading a lengthy peer reviewed, scholarly article.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.
Can't Find Enough in LionSearch and ERIC? Try These Subject-Specialty Databases
Search for bilingualism in businesses, minority careers, educational qualifications desired by companies.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management.
Great for psychological topics, like stereotypes, counseling, perceptions of specific ethnic groups, and more.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Policy-related articles on race, poverty, class, and education.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Race and government programs such as affirmative action.
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage is from 1979 to date.
Great for topics like school to prison pipeline, race in prison, racial profiling.
Provides abstracts of articles from the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, as well as books and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.