Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BBH 310: Research Strategies for Studying Biobehavioral Health

Dr. Penelope Morrison

Citation Styles

Zotero offers thousands of citation styles and they can be easily changed.

  1. Find the 'preferences' option under Edit in the top menu bar in the Zotero client
  2. Select "Cite"
  3. Click the "Styles" tab
  4. Select one of the pre-installed styles and click "OK"
  5. There are many more styles in addition to the pre-installed options. If you want a style not listed, click on "get additional styles" to search for and select the style you want.

Word Processor Integration

Zotero can be integrated with Microsoft Word to generate both in-text citations and bibliographies within your text document using references from your Zotero library.

  • The Word plugin is bundled with Zotero and should be installed automatically when you first start Zotero. Once the plugin is installed, you will see a Zotero tab in the top menu bar of your Word document.
  • Use the icons under the Zotero tab in your Word document to select your citation style, insert citations from your Zotero library, and generate your bibliography.

Creating Standard Bibliographies

There are two ways to create formatted bibliographies using Zotero without the word processor integration.

Quick Copy

  • Select your citation style by clicking Edit in the top menu bar in the Zotero client, select preferences, and click Export. Select your citation style from the drop down menu and click OK.
  • Drag and drop references from the center pane in Zotero into any text field (Word document, web page, blog, etc.).
  • Zotero will automatically format references according to your selected citation style.

Right-click to Select

  • Highlight one or more references in the center pane in Zotero (use Shift-arrow key to highlight multiple references).
  • Right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography from Items...”
  • Select your citation style and output method. If you select Copy to Clipboard, you can then open a text document and right-click to paste the formatted bibliography into your document.

Create Annotated Bibliographies

To create an annotated bibliography in APA style:

  • Enter your annotation in the "extra" field in the right-hand pane in Zotero for each reference you want to include.
  • Select American Psychological Association 7th edition (annotated bibliography) as your citation style. If you don't see this style in your list click "get additional styles."
  • Use the techniques listed above to create a document with the annotated bibliography.

To create an annotated bibliography in Chicago style:

  • Enter your annotation in the "extra" field in the right-hand pane in Zotero for each reference you want to include.
  • Select Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition (note, annotated bibliography) as your citation style. If you don't see this style in your list click "get additional styles."
  • Use the techniques listed above to create a document with the annotated bibliography.

For information on creating annotated bibliographies in other styles, see the Zotero Annotated Bibliography Guide from California State University San Bernadino.