Skip to main content

BBH 310: Research Strategies for Studying Biobehavioral Health

Dr. Penelope Morrison

Sign up for a Refworks Account

RefWorks login

  • In LionSearch, click on the menu button in the upper right corner to reach RefWorks Log In
  • On the RefWorks login page, click the bottom link: No account? Sign Up here
  • Enter your Penn State email, then enter a password and click Sign Up. You will need to go to your email to verify the account
  • RefWorks is entirely web-based, so once your account is set up you can log in from any computer
  • Once your account is created, you can access it from LionSearch or at refworks.proquest.com

Import references

LionSearch

RefWorks is integrated with LionSearch. To add references to your RefWorks library from LionSearch:

  • From your LionSearch results list, click the Menu button at the top right of your screen and select RefWorks Log In to access your RefWorks account
  • Click the folder icon next to any item in your LionSearch results list.
  • Items will be automatically added to your RefWorks library. The folder icon at the top right of the page indicates how many items have been added.
  • Click the folder icon at the top right of the page to go to your RefWorks library. From RefWorks, click the Return to Library Search link in the blue bar at the top of the page to return to your LionSearch results.

Library Databases

From library databases such as ProQuest or Academic Search Complete, use the export function to “Export to RefWorks." You can export individual records or add items to a folder and export a collection all at once.

Importing from Other Citation Tools

Note: Importing from other citation tools (Mendeley, EndNote) and from RIS files is not available with PSU access.

Make Sure Your Citations Are Complete!

When importing citations, double check the reference details as they can sometimes be incomplete. To make corrections, click on the reference to select it, click the pencil on the top right, then click any field to make changes to it.

In particular, make sure your references include:

  • title (journal article and journal, book, website, etc.)
  • author(s)
  • publication date
  • publication or retrieval information (publisher/place of publication, DOI, URL, etc.)

Upload or Drop Files

  • Click on the plus (“+”) button to upload saved files or simply drag and drop files into the citation list area in RefWorks. RefWorks will then try to extract citation information from your file. Accepted file types include PDF and Microsoft documents (.docx, .pptx, etc.).
  • To attach a file to a citation already in RefWorks, edit that citation by selecting it and using the pencil icon in the upper right corner, then drag and drop or select the file.
  • When importing citations, RefWorks may also try to bring in the associated full text document. Sometimes it may be a moment before the full text icon appears with your citation. If Refworks is unable to automatically import the full text, you can add it yourself using the instructions above.

When adding any files, double check the reference details as they can be incorrect or incomplete. To make corrections, click on the reference to select it, click the pencil on the top right, then click any field to make changes to it.

Create a Bibliography

  • Generate a bibliography for all items in collection (folder) or selected references by using the quotation button at the top of the screen.
  • Select the citation style you want.
  • If you use "Quick Cite":
    • You can also generate in-text citations for selected references.
    • The formatted bibliography will open in a new browser tab.
  • Use the "Copy to Clipboard" button to paste into your document.