GIS Specialist
Tara Anthony
she/her/hers
Contact:
1A Central Pattee Library
814-863-5753
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Introduction
This page is organized by broad discipline of interest and related sources of relevance.
African American Studies, African Studies
- ArcNews, Bridging the African Divide with GIS, Fall 2005This example demonstrates how GIS can be used in conservation and disease research in Africa.
- ArcNews, Drought Map tells a Tale of African FamineThis article includes an example of how mapping can be used to understand drought locations.
- ArcNews, Sustainability in Africa, Fall 2012This article provides an example of a GIS application in Africa.
Anthropology
- GIS: geographic information systems for the social sciences: investigating space and placeThis ebook provides multiple chapters to introduce the reader to GIS, GIS basics, GIS data collection, measurement, and analysis.
- Anthropology, space, and geographic information systemsThis text provides examples of GIS employed in anthropology studies, along with challenges.
Asian Studies
- Asia GIS AssociationThis association is dedicated to promoting the teaching, research, development, and application of GIS in Asia.
- ESRI Demographics, AsiaThis site includes information on the ESRI data about Asian countries.
Classics
- The Open University, Research Cluster on Spatial ClassicsThis site includes multiple examples of methodologies in the classics including the use of maps and spatial information.
- GIS for Archaeology, ArchaeoillustratorThis site includes multiple examples of GIS in archeology.
Criminology
- Elmes, G. A., Roedl, G., Conley, J. F., & SpringerLink (Online service). (2014). Forensic GIS: The role of geospatial technologies for investigating crime and providing evidence (1;2014; ed.). Dordrecht: Springer Netherlands. doi:10.1007/978-94-017-8757-4This ebook describes geospatial technologies principles, relationships to the courtroom, tracking applications, and technology applications.
- Chainey, S., & Ratcliffe, J. (2005). GIS and crime mapping. Hoboken, NJ;Chichester, England;: Wiley.This text provides examples of GIS in crime mapping.
- GIS in law enforcement: implementation issues and case studiesThis text utilizes case studies to explore GIS in law enforcement.
French
- GIS Diffusion: The Adoption and Use of Geographical Information Systems In Local Government in Europe, GISData 3, Chapter 10, France: a historical perspective on GIS diffusionThis text includes content on GIS in France.
- International Perspectives on Teaching and Learning with GIS in Secondary SchoolsThis text includes chapters on Canada and France and their experiences with using GIS.
- Historical GIS research in CanadaThis text compiles examples of historical GIS research in Canada.
History
- Towards Spatial Humanities: historical GIS and spatial historyThis ebook provides a foundation for the use of spatial information in history research and related disciplines.
- Historical GIS: technologies, methodologies, and scholarshipThis ebook describes approaches to work with historical data with GIS and other visualization techniques.
- History and GIS: epistemologies, considerations, and reflectionsThis ebook provides examples of using GIS and maps in history examples.
- Example of using ArcGIS Online with a travel narrativeTelling a Travel Story: Putting together a Virtual Tour of Harriet Jacobs' Memoir, by Elizabeth Della Zazzera
- Geospatial Historian, Open HGIS Lessons and ResourcesIncludes lessons using QGIS and ArcGIS, along with resources for finding spatial data
- Mapping AuthorsOnline exhibit from the University of Michigan Library including examples of mapping authors in history and interactive literary maps
Italian
- American Academy in Rome, Resources Maps and GISThis site provides links to map and geospatial resources for Italy.
- Geoportale Nazionale, The National GeoportalThis site provides access to map viewers for Italy.
Medieval Studies
- Ch. 8 Mapping Miracles: Early Medieval Hagiography and the Potential of GIS, Faye Taylor, in History and GIS, Epistemologies, Considerations, and ReflectionsThis text in History and GIS provides insights into how GIS can relate to historical applications.
Political Science
- GIS: geographic information systems for the social sciences: investigating space and placeThis ebook provides multiple chapters to introduce the reader to GIS, GIS basics, GIS data collection, measurement, and analysis.
- Mapping global cities: GIS methods in urban analysisThis text speaks to the power of mapping in cities for resource planning, urban studies, and development.
- GIS-based studies in the humanities and social studiesThis text demonstrates examples of GIS used in economic and social application.
Psychology
- Andrew Lohmann & Laurie E. Schoelkopf (2009) GIS—A Useful Tool for Community Assessment, Journal of Prevention & Intervention in the Community, 37:1, 1-4, DOI: 10.1080/10852350802498326This article demonstrates how GIS can be used to understand a community.
- Mendoza, N. S., Conrow, L., Baldwin, A. and Booth, J. (2013), USING GIS TO DESCRIBE RISK AND NEIGHBORHOOD-LEVEL FACTORS ASSOCIATED WITH SUBSTANCE ABUSE TREATMENT OUTCOMES. J. Community Psychol., 41: 799–810. doi: 10.1002/jcop.21572This article provides the reader with an example of understanding how GIS is used to examine neighborhood characteristcs.
- Qualtitative GISThis text provides the reader with an understanding of GIS from a mixed methods approach.
Sociology
- Facilitating Sociological Inquiry in Spatial Displacement with GIS, by Christopher A. Badurek, Sociation Today, Vol 5 (1), Spring 2007This site provides an example of understanding spatial relationships and a hot spot analysis.
- GIS best practices: Social SciencesThis ESRI document provides multiple examples of GIS in social science disciplines including connections to other broad disciplines in the humanities.
- An Application of Qualitative Geographic Information Systems (GIS) in the Field of Urban Sociology using ATLAS.ti: Uses and Reflections, by Joan Miquel Verd and Sergio Porcel, Forum: Qualitative Social Research, Vol 13 (2), May 2012This article combines a qualitative and GIS approach to investigation of urban space.
Spanish
- International Perspectives on Teaching and Learning with GIS in Secondary SchoolsThis article provides examples from Latin American countries and incorporation of GIS in curriculum.
- A Journey Through Latin American Maps from the Columbian Encounter to the PresentThis site provides resources for geospatial resources and maps for Latin America.
Women’s Studies
- Using Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for Gender and DevelopmentThis article demonstrates how GIS can be used with human variables, along with the combination of GIS and other methods, such as interviews.
- Gender and GIS: Using Maps to Improve Food Security in UgandaThis site provides an example of looking at the spatial patterns of women in Uganda.