Archivist and Humanities Librarian
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Heidi Abbey Moyer
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Available for in-person and Zoom appointments for Fall 2024
Website
Find Online Resources
- Folk Music IndexAn index to recordings of tunes and songs from traditional and contemporary sources.
- Folk Song IndexAn index to traditional folk songs of the world with emphasis on English-language songs.
- Folklorestreams.netA National Preserve of Documentary Films about American Roots Cultures.
- Open FolkloreA partnership of the American Folklore Society and the Indiana University Bloomington Libraries, making a variety of useful resources opening available to folklorists.
Associations and Organizations
- American Folklore Society
An association of folklorists who study and communicate knowledge about folkflore. - International Society for Contemporary Legend Research (ISCLR)The International Society for Contemporary Legend Research (ISCLR) encourages study of so-called “modern” and “urban” legends, and also of any legend that circulates actively.
- International Society for Ethnology and Folklore
The International Society for Ethnology and Folklore or SIEF (Société Internationale d´Ethnologie et de Folklore) is an international organization that facilitates and stimulates cooperation among scholars working within European Ethnology, Folklore Studies, Cultural Anthropology and adjoining fields. - Oral History Association (OHA)
Since 1966, the Oral History Association has served as the principal membership organization for people committed to the value of oral history. OHA engages with policy makers, educators, and others to help foster best practices and encourage support for oral history and oral historians. - Society for Ethnomusicology
A global, interdisciplinary network of individuals and institutions engaged in the study of music in all historical periods and cultural contexts.
Research and Educational Institutions
- American Folklife Center, Library of CongressOnline resources for the study of folklore.
- Pennsylvania Center for FolkloreThe Pennsylvania Center for Folklore (formerly the Center for Pennsylvania Culture Studies) was founded in 1990 with a mission to “promote greater knowledge and appreciation” for “diverse peoples” and “cultural traditions,” especially in south central Pennsylvania.
- Fife Folklore Archives at Utah State UniversityBook, fieldwork, oral history, student collections, image, and sound collections related to the study of folklore.
- New York Folklore SocietyThe New York Folklore Society fosters the study, promotion, and continuation of folklore and folklife of New York’s diverse cultures through education, advocacy, support, and outreach.
- Smithsonian Center for Folklife and Cultural HeritageThe Smithsonian's collection related to folklife studies.