Other Labor Organizations
Glass Bottle Blowers Association, Neon Department Union Made logo. Glass, Molders, Pottery, Plastics & Allied Workers International Union records, 1879-2002 (bulk 1934-1970), Historical Collections and Labor Archives, Special Collections Library, University Libraries, Pennsylvania State University.
In addition to our extensive holdings of USWA and UMWA records, we also have records from other labor organizations. A selection of these collections includes:
- Aluminum Workers of America. Local 18356, Local 2, and Local 302 (New Kensington, Pa.) Records, 1929-1978The collection of local union records of aluminum workers' in New Kensington, Pennsylvania, consists of an alphabetical combined correspondence and subject file, and 32 volumes of ledgers, financial record books, and minute books documenting the local's transition from trade to industrial union affiliation.
- Amalgamated Lithographers of America Records, 1924-1975The Amalgamated Lithographers of America was created in 1915; it merged in 1964 with the International Photo Engravers Union (IPEU) to form the Lithographers and Photoengravers International Union (LPIU). The collection contains contracts, shop wage scales and correspondence, council and general letters, council meetings, office records, quarterly reports from Locals 1 - 62, local strike benefits, wage surveys, financial reports, 26 financial ledgers, speeches and convention proceedings.
- Glass, Molders, Pottery, Plastics & Allied Workers International Union Records, 1879-2002Collection documents the union’s administration, organizing, and lobbying activities. Includes extensive correspondence files (many microfilmed), contracts, minutes, conference proceedings, photographs, scrapbooks, the newsletter, "Horizons," and memorabilia.
- Graphic Communications International Union records, 1900-1983GCIU records consist primarily of negotiated labor agreements with various companies, as well as photographs, correspondence files, reports, and publications. Some materials from the Office of the Vice President are housed separately as the Jack Wallace Papers.
- Pennsylvania AFL-CIO Records, 1899-1988The Pennsylvania AFL-CIO formed from the Pennsylvania Federation of Labor and Pennsylvania Congress of Industrial Organizations in 1959 after the 1955 merger of the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations. This collection includes records of the Pennsylvania Federation of Labor and Pennsylvania AFL-CIO. It consists of subject and correspondence files, financial records, convention proceedings, books and periodicals, photographs, and scrapbooks, and one audio LP record.
- Pennsylvania Federation of Labor Records, 1913-1965The Pennsylvania Federation of Labor was chartered in 1902 and merged with the Pennsylvania Congress of Industrial Organizations in 1960. These labor records consist mainly of correspondence and research files; there are also photographs, 9 posters, 1 Black History newspaper, certificates, publications, and 7 audio recordings.