United Steelworkers of America records
Steelworkers' Universal strike, Tampa, Florida. United Steelworkers of America, District 36 records, 1931-1948, Historical Collections and Labor Archives, Special Collections Library, University Libraries, Pennsylvania State University.
This body of materials documents the internal and external activities of every hierarchical level of the USWA organization. The main components of the archive are the records from the International Executive Board, elected officials, staff departments, and district and local union offices. In addition to several thousand cubic feet of files, the USWA Archive contains newsletters, publications, posters, photographs, sound recordings, and film. Complementing the Steelworker's official records are the nearly two hundred oral histories of former union officers, staff members, and rank and file activists; numerous manuscript collections documenting the activities of the Steel Workers Organizing Committee, predecessor of the USWA; and the records of several unions that preceded or merged with the USWA.
- International Executive Board Records, 1933-1990The second highest policy-making group in the union, the IEB manages International Union funds and properties as part of administering USWA affairs. The collection includes correspondence, memoranda, reports, financial statements, and other materials.
- United Steelworkers of America, Tri-Local and Locals 2598, 2599, and 2600 Records, circa 1939-1992The Tri-Local was established in United Steelworkers of America (USWA) District 9 in 1942, representing 31,000 workers at Bethlehem Steel; it merged into Local 2599 in 1995. Materials include correspondence, membership records, agreements, minutes, financial records, photographs, and memorabilia.
- United Steelworkers of America and Labor Oral History collectionThe USWA supported an oral history project beginning in the mid-1960s to preserve a record of its history. Alice Hoffman, faculty with Penn State Labor Studies Department, conducted many of these interviews and expanded the project to document the labor movement in Pennsylvania.
- Search for other archival and Special Collections holdingsUse this link to search for materials in the Special Collections Library about labor history.