United Mine Workers of America records
"In Union is Power" poster, Labor graphic arts and poster collection, 1897-1983, Historical Collections and Labor Archives, Special Collections Library, University Libraries, Pennsylvania State University.
Founded in Columbus, Ohio in 1890, the United Mine Workers of America (UMW) was an influential member of the American Federation of Labor (AFL) and the driving force behind the creation of the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO) in 1937. The union grew rapidly under the CIO. Some materials in the United Mine Workers records may require advance authorization from the curator, Dr. Jim Quigel.
Collections that pertain to the United Mine Workers of America consists of approximately 1,500 linear feet. Several key UMWA collections include:
- United Mine Workers of America, International Executive Board records, 1900-1989Consists primarily of packets and files related to IEB meetings, meeting transcripts, and approximately 10,000 membership restoration cases.
- United Mine Workers of America, President's Office correspondence with districts, 1898-1983Includes correspondence between the head of the United Mine Workers of America and district officers or their representatives in the field, arranged by district.
- United Mine Workers of America photographic, graphic, and artifacts collection, 1891-1997This collection consists mainly of photographs documenting United Mine Workers of America conventions and officials, a photographic survey of American miners’ homes, and labor cartoons.
- Search for other UMWA materialsFor information on additional collections, enter the phrase "mine workers" in the Special Collections Search box.