Library Guides: Elementary and Early Childhood Education (Penn State Berks): Resources for EDTHP 115 Project

Research Pathway

Welcome! Please try the suggested steps below to find sources for the EDTHP 115 - Individualized Project.

Citing

Each database has a "Cite" icon that will create your APA citation to the source.

For Assistance:

Please email Brett Spencer, Education Librarian, at dbs21@psu.edu

Or click into the Penn State Ask A Librarian chat system.

🚶‍♀️ Our Research Pathway 🚶‍♂️

Step 1: ERIC

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Everyone should try to find at least one source here--it is a specialized database of education articles and documents.
🌟Power Tip: Find one good article and looks in its references for even more sources!
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.

Step 2: Proquest Newsstream

ProQuest - U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-use search engine that covers most major American papers, including New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune and more.
🌟Power Tip: Change the drop-down to "Document Title" to the right of the search box.
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content going back to the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.

Step 3: Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A special part of Google that finds mainly scholarly articles, documents, and books.
🌟Power Tip: Find one good article and click the "Cited By" icon to find additional ones.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.

Step 4: LionSearch

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
Finds a mixture of scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, books, and streaming videos.
🌟Power Tip: Use the filters on the left sidebar to focus on a certain type of sources, publication year, subject (hashtag).

Step 5: Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opinion pieces about hot topics in education: standardized testing, common core, bullying, social media, critical race theory, and more.
🌟Power Tip: After you click search, scroll down and click the category title "Viewpoints" to find opinions and arguments on all sides of your issue.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.