Library Guides: Elementary and Early Childhood Education (Penn State Berks): Articles

Best Bets for Scholarly & Professional Articles

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, lesson plans, standards--the best one-stop-shop professional development resource for student teachers! Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.

Educational Leadership (Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development)
This journal from ASCD offers classroom management techniques and teaching ideas.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
As easy to search as Google but offers mainly scholarly and professional articles and books--no wikipedia or bogus web sites.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new window
A great suite of education journals.
ProQuest Education Journals provides access to over 785 journals, more than 615 in full text, including all aspects of education, with coverage since 1991.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
The newspaper for K-12 educators, packed full of teaching tips and resources.
Education Week is a national newspaper focusing on K-12 education policy. Serving as a bridge between the worlds of policy and practice, Education Week is now recognized as "American education’s newspaper of record." This subscription includes Campus wide access to EdWeek.org for all the students, faculty, and administrators. Content from 37 print editions published yearly is posted on our Web site as the newspaper is being mailed. In between issues, the Web site is updated daily with the latest news, research, and commentary from the K-12 world. All content becomes part of a searchable archive going back to 1981 of previously published content. The older content as well as the Web-only updates are exclusive to EdWeek.org and can't be found in any other databases.

What if I can't see the text of an article I find? Once you find the citation, try the button to see if Penn State has the electronic or print version of the article you need. If the electronic version is available, it will appear as the first link on the Get it! menu. If the article is not available electronically, click on The CAT link to automatically search our catalog and see if Penn State has a print copy. If no other copy is available, you use the InterLibrary Loan link to request it from another library.

eJournals Browse and Search

Some teachers like to browse journals to keep their knowledge and skills up-to-date. Top journals for early education include American Educational Research Journal, Child Development, Early Childhood Research and Practice, International Journal of Early Childhood Special Education, and Journal of Early Intervention

Browse Penn State eJournals by Title

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Penn State University Libraries

Elementary and Early Childhood Education (Penn State Berks)

Education Librarian

Best Bets for Scholarly & Professional Articles

eJournals Browse and Search