Library Guides: Architecture: Accessibility & Universal Design (ADA)

Accessibility & Universal Design (ADA)

ADA Homepage
U.S. Department of Justice Americans with Disabilities Act Home Page
2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design,
After March 15, 2012, compliance with the 2010 Standards will be required for new construction and alterations.
United States Access Board
The U.S. Access Board is a federal agency that promotes equality for people with disabilities through leadership in accessible design and the development of accessibility guidelines and standards for the built environment, transportation, communication, medical diagnostic equipment, and information technology.
Institute for Human Centered Design
The Institute for Human Centered Design (IHCD), founded in Boston in 1978 as Adaptive Environments, is an international non-governmental educational organization (NGO) committed to advancing the role of design in expanding opportunity and enhancing experience for people of all ages and abilities through excellence in design. IHCD’s work balances expertise in legally required accessibility with promotion of best practices in human-centered or universal design.
Universal Design Case Studies
Maintained by the Institute for Human Centered Design, this website hosts an international collection of Universal Design case studies of the built environment and seeks to explore the current “best practices” in Universal Design in the built environment and make this information freely available.
UniversalDesign.com
UniversalDesign.com is intended to advance the state of the art of Universal Design (UD), by providing a platform where people can freely find and share information about UD. UniversalDesign.com is managed by the IDeA Center at SUNY Buffalo.

Universal Design by Roberta Null (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Universal Design : Creating Inclusive Environments by Edward Steinfeld; Jordana Maisel; Danise Levine
Call Number: eBook
Universal Design Handbook by Wolfgang Preiser; Korydon H. Smith
Call Number: NA2545.A1U55 2011
Basics: Barrier-Free Planning by Isabella Skiba; Rahel Züger
Call Number: NA2545.P5S55 2009
The Arsenal of Exclusion & Inclusion by Tobias Armborst et. al.
Call Number: HT167.A84 2017

Journal databases are good resources of articles discussing issues related to Accessibility & Universal Design.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes the academic & professional literature in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture and city planning.
Contains descriptions of articles on the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, furniture, and interior design and decoration in more than 700 international magazines. Most indexing began with 1934, but some titles are indexed to dates as early as 1741. Updated weekly.
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, product listings, case studies, etc. related to all aspects of green design
BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, project case studies, and full text access to Environmental Building News from 2004 to date. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources. Creating a free personal account will allow you to comment on articles and participate in discussion threads.
Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the academic & professional literature across all disciplines of engineering.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.