Library Guides: Architecture: Codes & Regulations

Building Codes

International Code Council (ICC)
The International Code Council, a membership association dedicated to building safety and fire prevention, develops codes used to construct residential and commercial buildings, including homes and schools. Most U.S. cities, counties and states that adopt codes choose the International Codes developed by the International Code Council. The ICC revises and publishes their codes every three years.

The ICC has provided free access to many of their codes. See below for details:

I-Codes: Full Text of their most popular International Codes from 2015, 2012 & 2009. The text is available for free, but in read only form. Basic editions of their 2018 and 2021 building codes are available.
ICC Standards: Full text of some of their more subject specific standards dating back to 2009. The text is available for free, but in read only form.
Historical Free Resources: Full text of some specific addendums adopted by various U.S. States and cities. Pennsylvania is not one currently available. The Historical Free Resources also contains a selection of addendum standards for various organizations such as HUD, FEMA, DOJ, etc.

DOE Building Energy Codes Program (United States Department of Energy)
DOE's Building Energy Codes Program is an information resource on national model energy codes. They work with other government agencies, state and local jurisdictions, national code organizations, and industry to promote stronger building energy codes and help states adopt, implement, and enforce those codes.
National Fire Protection Association Research Foundation (NFPA)
The mission of the international nonprofit NFPA is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education.
Underwriters Laboratories
Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL) is an independent, not-for-profit product-safety testing and certification organization founded in 1894.

Building Codes Illustrated

Steven Winkel & Francis D. K. Ching have written an illustrated interpretative guide to the International Building Code for each of past five editions (2015, 2012, 2009, 2006, 2000). These are extremely helpful at deciphering the technical and legal jargon contained in the actual International Building Codes. The edition for the 2012 Code is available as an ebook.

Building codes illustrated : a guide to understanding the 2018 International Building Code by by Francis D.K. Ching, Steven R. Winkel, FAIA
Publication Date: 2018
-- the guide to the 2012 International Building Code is available as an eBook

Journal databases are good resources of articles discussing changes to building codes.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes the academic & professional literature in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture and city planning.
Contains descriptions of articles on the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, furniture, and interior design and decoration in more than 700 international magazines. Most indexing began with 1934, but some titles are indexed to dates as early as 1741. Updated weekly.
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, product listings, case studies, etc. related to all aspects of green design
BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec product listings, high-quality articles about green buildings, peer-to-peer comments, project case studies, and full text access to Environmental Building News from 2004 to date. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources. Creating a free personal account will allow you to comment on articles and participate in discussion threads.
Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the academic & professional literature across all disciplines of engineering.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.