Royalty-free stock collection of historical antique map images

Search across selected geospatial resources, curated by librarians and geospatial specialists at ten research institutions in the Big Ten Academic Alliance. The resources include GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps.

Mapping from the U.S. Census Bureau

Provides political maps for countries around the world

Maps and links for US states

Over 80,000 maps and images online including rare 16th through 20th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.

The ECAI Cultural Atlas Portal is a location to bring together the work of ECAI affiliates and atlases which are exemplars of the variety of cultural atlases currently being developed

Topographic 1:25,000 scale maps of pre-WWII Germany.

Good source for map indexes and sheet names. Site is in German.

Search for cities, areas, regions in traditional or satellite views

libraries with historic maps collections, courtesy of the Broer Map Library

This site provides digital images of older editions of Northeastern U.S. topographic maps

Indexes a variety of maps and charts worldwide.

Maps held by Swiss libraries (geographic discovery tool)

A selection from the Library of Congress's historic map collection

Customize one-page maps and download, email, print, or share!" hosted by the National Geographic Society

Over 2,000 scanned images of historical maps and charts, including civil war battlefields, early explorations of the U.S., and world-wide coastlines.

Show changes in county boundaries over time

A large collection of online maps for locations worldwide

Soviet military topographic maps of Britain and the world

Maps and geographic information resources

A collection of over 800 examples of maps from Cornell University Library. These maps are intended primarily to influence opinions or beliefs rather than communicate geographic information.

Over 8,000 scanned maps from 19 collections (including Library of Congress and the Harvard Library) with many maps georeferenced with MapWarper.

One of the largest collections of maps, plans and topographical views in the world, numbering some 4.5 million, with a chronological spread of over 2,000 years.

Maps of the UK plus international maps.

Topographic Maps of Eastern Europe offers a collection of small and large scale historical maps of the lands of the former Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth and the Pale of Jewish Settlement in late Tsarist Russia. Thousands of communities can be found in these images where our ancestors lived and eventually left. It concentrates on the Jewish community.

USGS map catalog and interface for discovering geologic maps of the US.

Mapping applications that allow you to generate maps that display environmental information for the entire United States.

A dynamic map interface (choose a theme) and scanned images from National Geographics's Atlas of the World (allows you to zoom in and out).

A gateway to all U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) mapping products and services.

Web-based data visualization tool that will allow everyone to quickly and easily create rich interactive visualizations with their own data

A Federal body created in 1890 and established in its present form by Public Law in 1947 to "maintain uniform geographic name usage throughout the Federal Government

The GNIS contains information about physical and cultural geographic features of all types in the United States, associated areas, and Antarctica, current and historical, but not including roads and highways.