Heather Ross
she/her
Contact:
1 Pattee Library
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Penn State University Libraries
University Park, PA 16802
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Penn State University Libraries
University Park, PA 16802
814-863-1349
Website
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Geospatial Services Librarian
Nathan Piekielek
Contact:
W-1B Pattee Library
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps & Geospatial Information
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA
16802-1809
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps & Geospatial Information
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA
16802-1809
814-865-3703
Website
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Pennsylvania
- Historic Maps of PennsylvaniaImages of the region and state from the 16th to the 21st centuries
- Historic Maps of Pennsylvania Counties [PA Department of Transportation]Listed by county and by year.
- Pennsylvania Maps GuideUse this Guide for more PA historic maps.
United States
- Library of CongressThe Library of Congress had digitized nearly 30,000 maps, mostly of the US, including many maps on the Battle of Gettysburg and histroic birds-eye views of many Pennsylvania towns.
- Maps, Atlases and Gazetters from Ancestry.comThis database maps and gazetteers from several countries and also contains approximately 1,200 U.S. county land ownership atlases from the Library of Congress’ Geography and Maps division, covering the years 1860-1918. The original microfilms have recently been rescanned to improve image quality and legibility where possible. These maps can be searched by State, County, Year, Owner's name, or a combination of these elements.
- Serial Set (U.S. Congressional Digital Collection 1789-1969) This link opens in a new windowMaps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs
The serial set contains House and Senate Documents and reports as well as Senate Executive Documents and Reports. The serial set maps are of historical significance, and were previously very difficult to access. The maps have been scanned at high resolution in both black & white and color.
To access the maps in the Serial Set:
- Check Serial Set Maps 1789-present to limit your search to the maps in the Serial Set
Worldwide
- Old Maps OnlineSearch by geographic area and or time frame to find scanned historic maps from many different sources.
- David Rumsey Map CollectionOver 80,000 maps and images online including rare 16th through 20th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.
- Historic Maps in the Perry-Castañeda Library Map CollectionConcise list of historical worldwide maps.
- Maps, Atlases, and Gazetteers section of Ancestry Library EditionPhotos and Maps, Atlases and Gazetteers.
- Historic maps of IndiaA collection of historical maps produced by the Survey of India from 1750 to the present day, with scales ranging from 1:1,000,000 to 1:50,000. When published these maps were the definitive geographical record of their day, and now they are difficult to find except in a few specialized library collections..
- Historic Urban PlansMaps from the private collection of Dr. John Reps formed the basis for this collection. It contains city plans and views from cities around the world.
- South Asia Commons: History and Culture (PSU only)"It’s the largest collection of books, journals and documents from the region, covering India, Pakistan, Burma, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh. Its size and diversity will bring new and inclusive perspectives to learning and research across the humanities and social sciences. Faculty in economics, politics, law, Indology, archaeology, anthropology, cultural studies, history, and education will all benefit."