New Directions in Child Abuse and Neglect Research recommends an actionable framework to guide and support future child abuse and neglect research. This report calls for a comprehensive, multidisciplinary approach to child abuse and neglect research that examines factors related to both children and adults across physical, mental, and behavioral health domains--including those in child welfare, economic support, criminal justice, education, and health care systems--and assesses the needs of a variety of subpopulations. It should also clarify the causal pathways related to child abuse and neglect and, more importantly, assess efforts to interrupt these pathways.

Child maltreatment is a universal problem that has precipitated a mobilization of efforts from a variety of disciplines, including psychology, medicine, psychiatry, social work, sociology, and criminology. Particular attention has been directed toward the prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect. Such endeavors require the screen­ing of large groups in order to identify families that are at high risk for engaging in such behavior. Delineating those characteristics that differ­entiate high- from low-risk families and children is one of the obvious priorities for researchers and clinicians in the future.

Child sexual abuse has become a prevalent topic of study and discussion in the fields of Child Psychology, Pediatrics, Law Enforcement, and Social Work. But even with the widespread knowledge of identifiable behavior in its victims and abusers, society's response to child sexual abuse is failing profoundly. Rebecca Bolen's authoritative book, Child Sexual Abuse: Its Scope and Our Failure, clearly defines the scope of child sexual abuse and addresses society's ability to respond to the problem. It is her thesis that society's response to child sexual abuse is failing because the policies, programs, and statutes designed to assess and identify abuse are grounded in historical and myth-bound theoretical child sexual abuse literature rather than in the empirical knowledge base.

This important new volume provides a comprehensive account of the causes and consequences of child maltreatment from a developmental perspective. The chapters in the volume offer an historical and definitional context for future studies: What constitutes physical, sexual, and emotional abuse? What is child neglect and how has its definition changed over time? Why has the theory of the intergenerational transmission of maltreatment been overstated for so long? The heart of the volume lies in its careful description of well controlled research on the impact of maltreatment on the developmental process. Specific chapters address the effects of maltreatment on congitive, linguistic, social, and emotional development.

Calling for an honest look at sex abuse treatment, Susan Clancy tears down the conventional trauma model, arguing that the healing professions don't allow survivors to speak openly about they really felt at the time of abuse.

The chapters in this book are intended to describe what is known and what is not known in several specific areas of childhood abuse. The opening interview with Roland Summit gives readers an opportunity to get acquainted with a pioneer in the field. An instrumental force in the study of child sexual abuse, Summit has indelibly impacted the work of the remaining authors and the field in general. The interview provides a personal and historical view of the development of the field and identifies problems and issues all professionals should be prepared to deal with. 

U.S. Department of Justice Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) publication.

Classic Papers in Child Abuse presents a selection of timeless core research into interdependent aspects of dealing with child maltreatment. This book is for advanced clinical students and professionals in a variety of disciplines whose work involves interdependent aspects of dealing with child maltreatment. In essence, a "mini-library" is made available for quick access to timeless core research vital to the assessment, management, treatment, and prosecution of current cases.

Despite increased awareness of the problem of sexual abuse, most institutions training the helping professions have trouble compiling material for their regular curricula on child sexual victimization. This book fills the need for all the relevant material to be drawn together in an accessible form. The clear structure takes the reader through terms and approaches and provides useful guidelines for dealing with sexual maltreatment. It will be an indispensable tool for helping professionals and others making assessment and intervention decisions in cases of child sexual abuse.

How can someone forget an event as traumatic as sexual abuse in childhood? This book examines the logic of forgotten abuse. Psychologist Jennifer Freyd's breakthrough theory explaining this phenomenon shows how psychogenic amnesia not only happens but, if the abuse occurred at the hands of a parent or caregiver, is often necessary for survival. What Freyd describes, with real-life examples, is betrayal trauma, a blockage of information that would otherwise interfere with one's ability to function within an essential relationship - that of parent and dependent child, for instance.

First published in 1994. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Based on original research with self-identified paedophiles in the community, this book challenges assumptions and destroys the sacred cows of both radical and conservative thinking on paedophilia and sexuality. Offering a humane and inspiring vision, the book goes beyond previous thinking to develop an inclusive new approach.

It is now estimated that as many as one in four women and one in six men are sexually abused before the age of 18. This book explores what can be done to stop this, making use of case studies and primary interview data and seeking a new understanding of paedophilia in order to better prevent child sexual abuse.

Children who have been sexually abused are at risk for developing a whole host of symptoms including sleep problems, school refusal, feelings of worthlessness, and depression. This state-of-the-art, comprehensive handbook offers chapters from experts from a variety of backgrounds on the spectrum of issues related to child sexual abuse, from its identification and assessment, to its treatment, and prevention. Helping professionals will appreciate this reference guide as they work with every aspect of child sexual abuse.

This collection of essays offers a comprehensive guide that provides the latest information on assessment, prevention and policy, encompassing the full spectrum of child and adolescent sexual abuse.

Identify an abusive injury and treat it effectively by reviewing evidence and critical analyses from leading authorities in the field. Recognize the signs of shaken baby syndrome, sex offenders, and abuse in religious organizations. Understand the biomechanics of injury to determine whether abuse was truly the cause of a child's injury. View illustrations that show first-hand examples of child abuse or neglect. Search the complete contents online and download the illustrations at www.expertconsult.com. Expert clinical evidence to recognize, diagnose and treat child abuse.

Introduces the current spectrum of knowledge on physical and sexual abuse in the medical literature. In addition, this resource serves as an integral reference to find specific information among the vast amount available. Balanced coverage features citations to the literature from both sides of issues that remain controversial, and a glossary of medical terms provides accessible definitions. This vital study guide covers critical issues surrounding the accurate diagnosis and evidence taking in suspected physical child abuse, and it provides the necessary assessment guidelines specific to a forensic examination of the sexually assaulted child and sexually transmitted diseases in children.

In Erotic Innocence James R. Kincaid explores contemporary America's preoccupation with stories about the sexual abuse of children. Claiming that our culture has yet to come to terms with the bungled legacy of Victorian sexuality, Kincaid examines how children and images of youth are idealized, fetishized, and eroticized in everyday culture. Evoking the cyclic elements of Gothic narrative, he thoughtfully and convincingly concludes that the only way to break this cycle is to acknowledge--and confront--not only the sensuality of children but the eroticism loaded onto them.

This book contributes to an overall understanding of the nature and the impact of sexual boundary violations. By exploring an extreme human experience, childhood sexual abuse, the present study allows an insight into a hidden, silenced, and destructive aspect of human relations. It is the first of its kind to make comprehensible both the general path from violation to sickness, and the particular logic of assault embodiment.

This Handbook examines core questions still remaining in the field of child maltreatment. It addresses major challenges in child maltreatment work, starting with the question of what child abuse and neglect is exactly. It then goes on to examine why maltreatment occurs and what its consequences are. Next, it turns to prevention, treatment and intervention, as well as legal perspectives. The book studies the issue from the perspective of the broader international and cross-cultural human experience. Its aim is to review what is known, but even more importantly, to examine what remains to be known to make progress in helping abused children, their families, and their communities.

The book provides current, concise, and easy-to-use information in short chapters that assist practitioners with the prevention, identification, and management of victims and offenders.

How is sexual abuse to be defined? What are the effects of abuse? How can be victim be helped? This book covers a wide range of issues concerning the sexual abuse of children. Topics such as epidemiology, legal reforms, and child pornography are dealt with in this and the companion volume.

This volume provides a comprehensive, integrated, child-oriented research agenda for the nation. The committee presents an overview of three major areas:
Definitions and scope--exploring standardized classifications, analysis of incidence and prevalence trends, and more.
Etiology, consequences, treatment, and prevention--analyzing relationships between cause and effect, reviewing prevention research with a unique systems approach, looking at short- and long-term consequences of abuse, and evaluating interventions.
Infrastructure and ethics--including a review of current research efforts, ways to strengthen human resources and research tools, and guidance on sensitive ethical and legal issues.

Jenny J. Pearce draws on young people s voices to explore the difficulties that arise for researchers and for practitioners when working with sexually exploited young people. While child protection interventions must guide social work, she argues that other agencies such as health, education, housing and training each have a role to play in supporting a sexually exploited young person. Challenging the uncritical acceptance of the child as victim, the book suggests therapeutic outreach as an approach to working with sexually exploited young people that can complement child protection procedures, support practitioners in the field and enhance the young person s sense of autonomy and responsibility during their transition to adulthood.

This volume provides a rigorous assessment of the research relating to the disclosure of childhood sexual abuse, along with the practical and policy implications of the findings. Leading researchers and practitioners from diverse and international backgrounds offer critical commentary on these previously unpublished findings gathered from both field and laboratory research. Cross-cultural, clinical, and multi-disciplinary perspectives are provided. The goal is to learn more about why children frequently remain silent about their abuse, deny it, or if they do disclose, do so belatedly and incompletely, often recanting their allegations over time.

Written for mental health professionals, this indispensable guide reviews the range of relevant literature covering issues in assessing child molesters. Fully updated, this volume directs the professional to the most current knowledge available on the subject in a compact, accessible form. Readers will learn from this resource which characteristics do and do not distinguish child molesters, which situational factors are related to molestation, which instruments are used in the assessment of child molesters, how assessment information is used to appraise risk and guide treatment, and all of the elements of a useful assessment report.

Written and edited by a vast array of the world's leading experts on child abuse and neglect, the new third edition of Child Abuse: Medical Diagnosis and Management clearly explains the signs, symptoms, and injuries of the abused child. It includes more than 250 illustrations and a wealth of medical, surgical, radiographic, and laboratory information.

Explores the dynamics, effects, treatment options, and preventive measures available to both the children and the adults involved in child sexual abuse. Chapters include:
Emphasis and guidance on seeking counseling.
Pathways for victims to seek renewed, healthy, and productive lives.
Options available for rehabilitating abusers.
Personality traits common to abusers.
Victim responses to the trauma of abuse.
Outlines of work now underway to understand neurobiological aspects of disorders that may lead to abuse.
Appropriate treatments for victims and offenders.

Contrary to popular belief, not all sex offenders who target children are pedophiles, and not all pedophiles commit sexual offenses. This book addresses key concerns and questions in dealing with these clinical populations: How can pedophilia be detected? What causes pedophilia and sexual offending against children?

Provides an overview of child abuse, specifically focusing on sexual abuse and moves to a discussion on sexual abuse in the schools, including a look at legislation designed to protect students and the impact of this legislation in public schools.

It is now commonly recognized that child abuse and neglect can be fully understood only through the use of longitudinal research methods--difficult, expensive, and time-consuming though their application may be. This book reviews the findings from current longitudinal research and also serves as an authoritative guide to the complex methodologic issues involved in conducting such studies.

Reveals what happens to those who survive horrific childhoods, only to commit terrifying crimes of their own. This work explores how unformulated traumata become embedded in Manichean scripts that provide meaning for otherwise inexplicable experiences of brutality and betrayal. It challenges the beliefs about criminal character and motivation.

Traditionally child sexual abuse has been perceived as a male crime, however, recent research suggests that a significant minority of offenders are female. While recognizing the importance of male perpetrators, this groundbreaking book places the behavior of these offending women into social context, challenging conventional perceptions of female offenders, femininity, and mothering.

Although history documents maltreatment of children since the beginning of human civilization, formal recognition of the problem has been relatively recent. During the past three decades, professionals in various fields, especially medicine, psychiatry, social work, law, sociology, and psychology, have been involved in the identification, treatment, and prevention of child victimization and its detrimental consequences.

This book offers a re-evaluation of mainstream and feminist approaches to understanding the theories and research issues relating to women and child sexual abuse.

A study of activism against child sexual abuse, tracing its emergence in feminist anti-rape efforts, its development into mainstream self-help, and its entry into mass media and public policy. Nancy Whittier deftly charts the development of the movement's "therapeutic politics," demonstrating that activists viewed tactics for changing emotions and one's sense of self as necessary for widespread social change and combined them with efforts to change institutions and the state. Though activism originated with feminists, as the movement grew and spread to include the goals of non-feminist survivors, opponents, therapists, law enforcement, and elected officials, participants were pulled toward formulations of child sexual abuse as a medical or criminal problem and away from emphases on gender and power.

This Second Edition of Child Abuse is devoted to a topic of major social and clinical significance. In this book, the author describes the different types of abuse and discusses the influence they have on development and social consequences in childhood and adolescence. The book uses theory and research to convey the importance of multiple contextual influences that affect abuse and can be used to ameliorate it.

After she is accused of playing a role in her best friend's death, a young woman battles depression, anger, guilt, loneliness, and the problems of her own family as well as those of the families of her old friends.

The youngest of three siblings, fourteen-year-old Anke feels both relieved and neglected that her father abuses her brother and sister but ignores her, but when she catches him with one of her friends, she finally becomes angry enough to take action.

With the encouragement of one of her teachers, a Chinese American high school senior asserts herself against her demanding, old-school mother and carves out an identity for herself in late 1980s San Francisco.

Tom, his friend Robert, and Robert's sister Emma attempt to rescue a strange girl Robert believes is the counterpart of Lorn, a tiny person that he met during his own ordeal as a miniature copy of himself.

A twelve-year-old boy is confined to his basement without food or clothing. For Charlie, the basement is home. He's being punished. He doesn't mean to leave--Father wouldn't allow it--but when Charlie is accidentally thrust outside, he awakens to the alien surroundings of a world to which he's never been exposed. Though haunted by fear of the basement and his father's rage, Charlie embarks on a journey toward healing and blossoms when he becomes an unconditionally loved and loving member of the right foster family. This carefully crafted and authentic portrayal of Charlie's emotional and physical abuse is gracefully matched by Susan Shaw's inspiring and deeply moving story of recovery.

Martin O'Boy is an expert observer and narrator of the summer of 1945, focusing both on the ups and downs of his family and neighbors; news from the war; and the popular culture of the day. Martin’s narrative echoes his naivety when a mentor at his church is exposed as a sexual predator.

Shy fifth-grader Stanley Krakow spends his time trying not to be noticed and pretending to be a superhero or a record-breaking athlete, until one day he meets someone who really needs him to be a hero.

Sent to counseling for hitting his girlfriend, Caitlin, and ordered to keep a journal, sixteen-year-old Nick recounts his relationship with Caitlin, examines his controlling behavior and anger, and describes living with his abusive father.

Yearning for freedom and schooling for himself and the other children who toil in a carpet factory in Pakistan to repay loans from the factory owner to their parents, Nadeem is inspired by a former carpet boy named Iqbal to lead the way.

Fourteen-year-old Cody trades one dangerous situation for another when he runs away from his abusive mother and takes a job caring for lions and tigers on a Texas ranch where one of the owners has supposedly gone missing.

When serial killer Hank Miller is killed in a shoot-out with police, his abused son Cameron adopts the identity of one of his father's victims in order to find a better life.

Fifteen-year-old Dawn, who cares for her alcoholic mother, tries to suppress a painful childhood memory as she contemplates killing God, whom she blames for her father's disappearance.

In the journal she is keeping for English class, sixteen-year-old Tish chronicles the changes in her life when her abusive father returns home after a two-year absence.

When a sixteen-year-old member of a race of shape-shifting killers called doppelgangers assumes the life of a troubled teen, he becomes unexpectedly embroiled in human life--and it is nothing like what he has seen on television.

Her parents' gambling addiction robs twelve-year-old First Mate of her childhood as she must care for her younger siblings and earn money to pay family expenses.

When a new girl at the private school Alex attends starts rumors about Alex's favorite teacher, Alex and her eighth-grade classmates are not sure how to act around him or with each other.

Intrepid eleven-year-old journalist Casey Smith is so busy trying to get a story for the newspaper about a victim of physical abuse that she neglects her friend Ringo, the school's first male cheerleader.

While learning to bestow dreams, a young dream giver tries to save an eight-year-old boy from the effects of both his abusive past and the nightmares inflicted on him by the frightening Sinisteeds.

While living in a home for emotionally disturbed girls in Germany just after World War II, twelve-year-old Halinka carefully hides her thoughts, feelings, and even her hopes.

Nursing hatred for the father who choked her and damaged her voice as a child, seventeen-year-old Alice writes songs she feels she cannot sing and seeks to reconcile her feelings for herself and her father.

When the beatings she receives from her cruel aunt get worse, Kazy decides to run away from her home in seventeenth-century England and take her little sister Beth with her.

A feisty, sexy fairy helps a young girl heal traumas of her past.

In 1968, after the death of her beloved Gramps, Delores "Itch" Colchester and her grandmother move from Florida to an Ohio trailer park, where she meets new people and, when she learns that a friend is being abused by her mother, tries her best to emulate her plain-spoken grandfather.

A fictionalized account of the Pakistani child who escaped from bondage in a carpet factory and went on to help liberate other children like him before being gunned down at the age of thirteen.

An account of the former Pakistani child labor activist whose life and unexplained murder has brought to the attention of the world the evil of child bondage.

A fifteen-year-old boy from an abusive home desperately seeking his older brother's love and approval starts pushing drugs for him and suffers the consequences.

In the forgotten little town of Azul in rural Argentina, there is a magical house. No one has lived there for almost as long as anyone can remember. But once a year, at midnight, the house turns blue, and twenty-four hours later it turns white again. For twelve-year-old Cintia, the little blue house is a refuge from life with her angry father. When the house is suddenly put up for sale, she and her best friend Bruno set out to save it.

Yanked out of his city life and plunked down into a small Montana town with his father and his father's boyfriend, seventeen-year-old Ben, angry and resentful about the changed circumstances of his life, begins to notice that something is not quite right with the little boy next door and determines to do something about it.

A series of poems convey the feelings of a young girl whose sense of joy and security at the family's summer house is shattered when an older boy who lives nearby sexually abuses her.

With a neglectful mother who has an abusive, live-in boyfriend, life for fifteen-year-old Samara is not fine, but when a substitute teacher walks into class one day and introduces her to poetry, she starts to view life from a different perspective.

An eleven-year-old boy tries to cope with being sexually abused, neglected, and treated cruelly at school.

Seventeen-year-old Alice, released from prison with a new identity after serving six years for murdering a child, tries to keep her anonymity from the British tabloids, while haunted by memories of her past trauma.

Fleeing from his brutal father, fourteen-year-old Burl arrives at the remote cabin of an eccentric genius who in just one day changes the young man's life forever.

Free and on his own, Daniel Linnehan is nearly sixteen in 1839 when he joins Jonathan Stocking and Billy, a girl hiding from her abusive father, in peddling goods in New England.

In Mallory, New York, as five sisters, aged eleven to seventeen, deal with assorted problems, conflicts, fears, and yearnings, a mysterious middle-aged man watches them, fascinated, deciding which one he likes the best.

In Iowa in the 1970s, twelve-year-old Tex overcomes his self-consciousness about his deformed right hand to take baseball lessons from his stepfather and his tomboy stepsister, who harbors a dark secret.

When his single mother dies of a heroin overdose, fourteen-year-old Nick is sent into England's institutional care system, where he endures harsh punishment and sexual abuse, and witnesses horrors on a daily basis before emerging, emotionally scarred but still alive. Loosely based on Oliver Twist.

Everett Anderson wonders how he can help his friend Greg, who appears to be a victim of child abuse.

When a brother and sister are taken to stay with their mother's sister because their mother neglects them, they wonder if they will see their mother again.

After moving to Minot, North Dakota, with his mother, the new female base commander, Air Force dependent Stu Ballentyne gradually becomes aware that something terrible is going on in his neighbor's house.

Life with their mentally ill mother becomes unbearable for twelve-year-old Sarah and fifteen-year-old Carlie as they are deprived of food and forbidden to use the bathroom.

Living with her grandfather in a small Oklahoma town, fourteen-year-old Ellie is in constant fear that she will be approached by her father, who is running from the police because he attacked her and mutilated her hand.

After the death of his abusive father, eleven-year-old Ricky tries to help his younger brother deal with his residual fears and discovers that running helps him deal with his own anger and the taunts of a bullying classmate.

At the end of high school, Johanna finally begins dating the girl she has loved from afar, but Reeve is as much trouble as she claims to be as she and her twin brother damage Johanna's self-esteem, friendships, and already precarious relationship with her sister.

Even though he cannot play basketball because of an injured right arm, the result of a birth defect, fifteen-year-old Jeremy is friendly with the team until he has to appear as a witness against the coach he saw molesting a cheerleader.

Seventeen-year-old Matthew recounts his attempts, starting at a young age, to free himself and his sisters from the grip of their emotionally and physically abusive mother.

Discusses various self-defense options which may be used when in an uncomfortable or unsafe situation and suggests what solutions might work in real life.

Sent to a remote, run-down reform school in Colorado, fifteen-year-old Angela is placed with the better girls, but upon learning that her "dangerous" friends are being isolated and left to live as animals, she takes radical steps to join them and help them escape.

Despite years of abuse at the hands of her drunken father, Baby Girl has always believed that she was special, partly because of her "gift" of seeing the future, until she and her mother set out to begin a new life on their own.

After moving with his emotionally distant father to the Finger Lakes region of upstate New York, twelve-year-old Owen faces a lonely summer until he meets an abused girl who may be a space alien.

A teenaged boy thrown out of his house by his abusive father goes to live with his older brother who ran away from home years ago to escape the abuse.

In Weaver Falls, New Hampshire, in 1975, seventeen-year-old Jocelyn looks for answers when her lifelong neighbor and friend, Gabe, turns up missing and she learns that, while her boyfriend has been telling everything to a priest, Gabe has been keeping terrible secrets.

Thirteen-year-old Stark "Stick" McClellan's brother has always defended him against those who tease him for his thinness and facial deformity, so when Bosten, having admitted he is gay, must leave home and their abusive parents, Stick sets out to find him.

Every year more than half a million young people are sexually abused or assaulted in North America. This groundbreaking book brings readers face-to-face with nine survivors who speak with candor and courage about the abuse they experienced, how they have healed, and how they are moving forward with their lives. White, black, Latino, and Native American, these everyday heroes come from a wide range of communities and have found different ways to cope with and overcome sexual trauma. Through moving personal stories and striking photographs they take readers into their lives, offering insight and hope for anyone affected by this all-too-common childhood experience. In this book about healing, young readers and their families will find additional information in the resource section, a comprehensive guide to the best help lines, books, films, and websites on healing and resilience.

Shy, seventeen-year-old Marcus and his sixteen-year-old brother, Enrique, accompanied by two friends, drive from their home in southern California to Monterey to confront the abusive father who walked out a year earlier, and who now wants to return home.

In rural Kentucky in 1955, Serilda Collins, single mother of four lively girls, discovers that her orphaned nephew is being subjected to brutality.

A homeless boy, running from the police with a fifteen-year-old, drug-addicted prostitute, her boyfriend who just killed his own parents, and a baby, gets the chance to make a better life for himself.

After her stepfather is arrested for child abuse, thirteen-year-old Karina's home life improves but while the severity of her older sister's injuries and the urging of her younger sister, their uncle, and a friend tempt her to testify against him, her mother and other well-meaning adults persuade her to claim responsibility.

After his anger erupts into violence, Cole, in order to avoid going to prison, agrees to participate in a sentencing alternative based on the Native American Circle Justice, and he is sent to a remote Alaskan Island where an encounter with a huge Spirit Bear changes his life.

Growing up poor and neglected in post-World War II England, young Mick, longing to be part of a loving family as he is shuttled from home to home, must harden himself against disappointment and cruelty--and, finally, against the abusive father he only recently met.

Shortly after moving with her mother to Florida, a lonely, fourteen-year-old bibliophile is reminded of her infant brother who died and decides to care for an abused, abandoned child with help from a new friend.

When her veterinarian father dies, sixteen-year-old Iris Wight must move from Maine to North Carolina where her Aunt Sue spends Iris's small inheritance while abusing her physically and emotionally, but the hardest to take is her mistreatment of the farm animals.

Sixteen-year-old Jeff, returning home after having been kidnapped and held prisoner for three years, must face his family, friends, and school and the widespread assumption that he engaged in sexual activity with his kidnapper.

In 1978, when her restless father moves the family to Racine, Wisconsin, fourteen-year-old Libby quickly becomes friends with neighbor Angie, but there is something strange about Angie's stepfather and when Libby learns the truth, she must make a very difficult choice.

Fourteen-year-old John creates alternative realities in his mind as he tries to deal with his mother's abusive boyfriend, his crush on a beautiful but shallow classmate, and other problems at school.

This print and online resource provides consumer health information about abuse and neglect of children and adolescents, along with facts about prevention and intervention strategies and treatment for survivors of abuse. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resour

This two-volume set provides information on services for sexual abuse victims, focused on children and adolescent victims of sexual assault, educator sexual harassment of school children, runaways, abductions, cyberbullying, peer sexual harassment, and teen relationship violence. It also covers early prevention programs, school-based interventions, and expert witness testimony in court cases.

Written for pediatric healthcare workers, emergency departments, and nurses, this book’s sections include: epidemiology of child maltreatment, interviewing, sexually transmitted infections in children, physical abuse, abusive head trauma, and psychological aspects of child maltreatment.

This book serves as a quick reference for nurses, emergency department staff, and other healthcare professionals as well as students working with both victims and perpetrators. It focuses on prevention, identification, and management of victims and offenders. This guide examines abuse resulting in minor injuries, permanent disabilities, post-traumatic stress disorder, depression, or even death.

Like the first edition, the second edition of the Encyclopedia of Stress covers nearly every conceivable aspect and ramification of stress including a wide range of related topics such as neuroimmune interactions, cytokines, enzymatic disorders, effects on the cardiovascular system, immunity and inflammation, and physical illnesses. Over the last decade, scientists have presented convincing research showing that psychological stress increases vulnerability to disease. They now understand more clearly that stress may be the thread tying together illnesses that were previously believed to be unrelated. Bone loss, increased abdominal fat, and damaged memory cells in the hippocampus have been linked to elevated cortisol levels. Building on the success of the first edition, this completely revised work surveys the vast amount of research generated in the past five years, resulting in a substantial revision with over 30% new material and over 100 new entries. Expanded sections include Animal Studies, Anxiety and Depression, Drugs, Depression, Disasters, and Psychological and Other Therapies. Also available online via ScienceDirect (2007) - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.

This reference title provides insight on protecting at-risk children and understanding and recognizing child maltreatment and its contributing factors. Coverage includes: protective laws, controversial court cases, fatality statistics, battered child syndrome, and common psychological and physical injuries.

This handbook defines child sexual abuse in the United States and globally and how those definitions are reflected in United States and international laws. For students, social workers, teachers, policymakers, and parents, it summarizes intervention, treatment, and prevention of child sexual abuse.

The Oxford Handbook of Children and the Law presents cutting-edge scholarship on a broad range of topics covering the life course of humans from before birth to adulthood, by leading scholars in law, medicine, social work, sociology, education, and philosophy, and by practitioners in law and medicine. An international collection of authors presents and analyzes the law and science pertaining to reproduction; prenatal life (including fetal exposure to toxic substances and abortion); parentage (including biology-based rights, background checks on birth parents, adoption, the status of gamete donors, and surrogacy); infant development and vulnerability; child maltreatment (including corporal punishment and religious defences to abuse and neglect); child protection policy and systems; foster care; child custody disputes between parents or between parents and other caregivers; schooling (including financing, resegregation, religious expression in public schools, at-risk students, special education, regulation of private schools, and homeschooling); delinquency; minimum-age laws; and child advocacy. Most chapters follow a format wherein they first describe the most debated or dynamic issues in each topical area, then explain in depth the law and/or science pertaining to the author's particular focus, and finally offer arguments and recommendations as to law and policy in that area. The normative component aims to advance discussions and debates in vital areas of contemporary child welfare law and policy. The Handbook is an essential resource for scholars and professionals interested in the intersection of children and the law.

Written for researchers and healthcare providers, the book explores medical management and long-term effects of child abuse and neglect. Manifestations of the following are examined: cutaneous, skeletal, visceral, maxillofacial, neck, head, ocular, and dental. It also addresses interviewing young children, sudden infant death syndrome, poisoning, Munchausen syndrome by proxy, sexually transmitted infections, and conditions mistaken for physical and sexual abuse.