Library Guides: Nursing: Home-Articles and Databases

Databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new window
Primary database for nursing and allied health, covering nursing journals, association content, books, book chapters, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, full-text of over 70 journals, legal cases, critical paths, research instruments, clinical trials.
One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles in addition to citations for book chapters, nursing dissertations, association publications, educational software, conference proceedings and selected full-text for state nursing journal articles, legal cases, patient education material, research instruments, standards of practice, critical paths, nurse practice acts, drugs, clinical innovations and government publications. References for alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship are also included. Coverage: 1982 - Present. Updates: Monthly.
PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
Biomedicine, nursing and nutrition.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Journals This link opens in a new window
Nursing and Allied Health resources.
A full text database subset of CINAHL, including only 300 full-text journals that are licensed to ProQuest. Coverage is typically from 1996, with a few titles prior to that date.
PsycINFO (via ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Primary database for international literature in psychology and related disciplines.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

CAB Abstracts (agriculture, nutrition and global health) This link opens in a new window
Public health, international health, biomedical sciences.
CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors. CAB Direct also includes a Global Health section which covers international and public health, including bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology and public and rural health.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with unique search options (citation tracking, journal impact factors).
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Dissertations from most U.S. institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world, with more than 2.5 million available in full text PDF.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments - HAPI (PSU access will expire on June 30, 2024.) This link opens in a new window
Behavioral measurement instruments, including information on questionnaires, interview schedules, coding schemes, rating and other scales, testing and more.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. The majority of tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. However, HaPI also includes tests used in medically related disciplines such as psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy. For more information on the HaPI database, please click here.
Health and Safety Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Public health safety and industrial hygiene.
This database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Coverage: 1981-date. Major subject areas included: Occupational Safety and Health Transportation; Environmental and Ecology; Food and Drugs; Pesticides; Natural Disasters; Civil Defense and Emergency Management; Fire Safety; Radiation Safety and Electrical Safety; Consumer and Recreation Safety; Ergonomics and Human Factors Diseases; Injuries and Trauma; Epidemiology and Public Health; Medical Safety; Toxicology; Civil and Structural Engineering.
Nursing Education in Video Back File This link opens in a new window
Online video collection to more than 400 titles.
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.

Multi-Media

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
3-D interactive Human Anatomy software.
Provides 3D human anatomy and multimedia interactive content allowing the user to rotate any anatomical view 360 degrees, add/remove layers of anatomy and label any visible structure.
Nursing Education in Video Back File This link opens in a new window
Online video collection to more than 400 titles.
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.

Drug Information

Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Drug and natural products interaction checker, natural product effectiveness checker for a given condition. Brand name product ingredients provided.
The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides the most comprehensive listing of brand name product ingredients available giving a summary of safety, effectiveness, drug interactions, and adverse effects. Other clinical tools include a drug interaction checker and an effectiveness checker. Over 1,100 profiles of natural ingredients are included as well as Canadian licensed natural health products and herbal fixed combination products.

Drug Information Portal (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Portal to current drug information for over 50,000 drugs.
more...less...
Gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other key government agencies.
Drugs, Herbs and Supplements (MedlinePlus)
Information about dietary and herbal remedies' effectiveness, dosage and drug interactions.
DAILYMED
Searchable drug information by name NDC code, drug class or Set ID. Includes over 76,742 drug listings submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources.
STATRef is a cross-searchable medical information database for healthcare professionals, integrating core full-text biomedical and nursing books with evidence-based resources and innovative tools in one site. All StatRef titles have a 5 concurrent user limit.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based Care sheets, Guidelines and more.
Nursing Reference Center Plus is a evidence-based point-of-care resource specifically for nurses. Geared toward nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nursing faculty, Nursing Reference Center Plus provides access to nursing care plans, nurse management and leadership topics, regulator and risk management topics, nursing skills checklists, video demonstrations of nursing practices, patient education handouts, and continuing education credits. App Information.

Searching for Qualitative and Quantitative Studies and the Basic Search Process

Quantitative vs. Qualitative Research in Nursing
Lippincott's overview of qualitative and quantitative research in EBP nursing

Basic Search for Qualitative Studies in CINAHL

Basic Search for Quantitative Studies in CINAHL

Also consider using specific text words in your search such as: ethnography*, phenomenology*, grounded theory*, purposive sample, hermeneutic*, heuristic*, semiotics, lived experience*, narrative*, life experiences, cluster sample, observational method*, content analysis, field stud*, theoretical sample, discourse analysis, focus group*, interview, ethnomethodology*

Searching for Qualitative Studies in PubMed

PubMed-Searching for Qualitative Research (Idaho State University Library)

Search Process

Basic Search Process Checklist Example from VCUHS Library

Characteristics and Differences of Qualitative and Quantitative Research
Characteristics	Qualitative	Quantitative
Definitions	Investigations which use sensory methods such as listening or observing to gather and organize data into patterns or themes. (CINAHL)	Scientific Investigations in which numbers are used to measure valuables such as characteristics, concepts, or things. (CINAHL)
Word Clues	Ethnographic study Field notes Field research Focus Group Observation Open ended Phenomenological	Case-control study Lab-experiment Clinical trial Cohort studies Control group Experimental group Intervention Randomized-controlled-trial Statistical Structured Questionnaire
Methods	Focus groups Interviews Recording behavior Unstructured observation	Develop hypothesis Determines methodology Collects data Analyzes data Uses mathematical and statistical techniques to analyze data
Search Terms	Qualitative Studies (CINAHL) Qualitative Research (MEDLINE)	Quantitative Studies (CINAHL) MEDLINE uses headings for specific types of quantitative research. See the examples listed under word clues
Data	Ideas Interpretive Narrative description Text-based Words	Measurable Numbers Statistics
Researcher Role	Subjective — involved as a participant observer	Objective — separate, observes, but doesn't participate

Penn State University Libraries

Nursing

Contact the Librarian at your campus for more help!

Databases

Searching for Qualitative and Quantitative Studies and the Basic Search Process