The Biomedical Engineering guide provides links to information on all topics related to biomedical engineering in relevant databases, journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, websites, professional societies, etc.
A series of modules that provide a basic definition of academic integrity and explain practically how to avoid plagiarism, cheating, and other academic integrity violations.
For a complete list of guides and tutorials please see Complete List
Top Picks
A list of databases to help you start your research in Biomedical Engineering. For additional information on how to search each database and use their unique search features be sure to look at the databases help, tools, search tips, and tutorials pages located on the front page of each database. These pages and videos will walk you through the different methods and terms used for basic searches, advanced searches, etc. in each database.
Journal articles and conference proceedings on all areas of engineering including biomedical engineering.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
A database that allows you to search Medline which covers bioengineering, biomedicine and health, bioethics, medicine, history of medicine, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, microbiology, and a variety of other subjects.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
MedlinePlus is updated daily and provides authoritative information on over 700 diseases and conditions from organizations like the National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health (NIH). Includes medical encyclopedia, dictionary, clinical trials, etc.
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information on over 700 diseases and conditions from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. Pre-formulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus is updated daily. This resource is designed for educational use only and not intended to replace advice from a health professional. Learn more about MedlinePlus at https://medlineplus.gov/aboutmedlineplus.html
Full-text of all Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers standards, journals and conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988. The material can be accessed through a searchable database or by browsing. 100 concurrent users. Inactive users timeout after 15 minutes. NOTE: We do not have access to the following IEEE content: IEEE Draft Standards, IEEE eLearning Library and IEEE English for Engineering. Additionally, we do not have access to various 3rd party content hosted by IEEE.
One of the largest and most prolific standards-producing organizations. Provides voluntary standards for materials, products, systems, and services.
Provides full-text access to all current ASTM (American Society of Testing Materials) and AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials) standards. Content on the ASTM Compass platform to which we do NOT have access: ASTM Videos, AATCC, API, AWS and AWWA. Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access. VPN information for remote users.
Contains papers on optics and photonics from SPIE journals and SPIE proceedings.
The SPIE Digital Library contains the full text of all papers appearing in SPIE Proceedings and SPIE journals from 1998 to the present, plus a substantial amount of full text coverage going back to 1990. SPIE publications cover all areas of optics and photonics.
Contains articles from science and technical journals in the areas of electronics, control engineering, information technology, etc.
Inspec is a leading bibliographic information database covering the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology with more than 7.7 million records taken from 3,500 technical and scientific journals and 1,500 conference proceedings. Coverage: 1896-present.
Contains ebooks on a variety of engineering topics including bioprocessing, mechanical engineering, and engineering design.
Provides full-text access to purchased and various open access Taylor & Francis Ebooks, which include imprints published by Routledge, CRC Press, and Garland Science.
Full-text access to journals and books from across all fields of science and engineering.
This system provides access to the electronic versions of the Elsevier journals and books that we subscribe to. Current issues and back files are included. Currently, it includes more than 1,200 journals. The full text collection contains over 1.5 million articles and book chapters from 1995 to present across all fields of science.
Use to find citations to relevant articles in all areas of science and engineering.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.