Penn State Brandywine Campus Library Culture & Community Resources
- Penn State Brandywine Campus LibraryThe Brandywine Campus Library offers over 50,000 books, DVDs and leisure reading materials, with electronic access to millions more library materials and full-text research articles to support your studies.
Brandywine campus library also includes a Seed Library, comprised of donated seeds for general community use. This project is a collaboration with the campus’s Center for Social Impact and the local chapter of Penn State Extension’s Master Gardener program. This provides a way for patrons to donate to the library something that we want to share. It is an excellent way to encourage sustainable gardening practices.
- LGBTQIA+ Resources for Penn State BrandywinePenn State Brandywine is a welcoming environment for all students. The library's LGBTQIA+ Guide to Resources in the University Libraries will aid you in locating and retrieving a wide range of books, periodicals, and media related to marginalized and underrepresented groups in the community. The resources include Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer or Questioning, Intersex, and Asexual history, issues, and literature.
Brandywine has a Pride+ Collection. The Pride+ collection brings together materials which represent the diversity of LGBTQIA+ experiences. In the traditional classification system for libraries, materials about these identities are scattered throughout the entire collection. Some titles can be found in history, others in sociology, still others in nursing. Additionally, in typical classifications, information about individuals who identify as LGBTQIA+ are generally located with materials on the topic for which they are best known: political activism, music, art, literature, etc.
The library’s prominently displayed Pride+ shelves let users find both fiction and non-fiction books about the LGBTQIA+ community in an inviting and centralized location. This collection also represents in a visible way the dedication Brandywine Campus Library has to ensure the library is an inclusive environment and safe space for people identifying or exploring their LGBTQIA+ identities.
- Black Lives MatterThis guide is being created in late Spring 2020 as a response to and resource for processing the nationwide George Floyd Protests. These protests aim to shine a light on the continued oppression experienced by Black Americans and in particular the effects of police brutality on this population. The hope is that this guide can be both used for personal education as well as providing a centralized resource for the Brandywine community who wish to address these topics in their teaching and learning. This guide contains historical information regarding oppression of African Americans and the systemic presence of White Supremacy, sources to stay up to date on contemporaneous news and analysis, and resources to support Anti-Racism. We welcome suggestions for any additional resources or topics you would like to see covered in this guide.
- Diversity, Equity & InclusionAs one of Penn State’s most diverse campuses, we appreciate and respect differences in race and ethnicity, gender identity and expression, sexual orientation, religious affiliation, age and life experience, nationality and language, and physical capabilities. Diversity, equity and inclusion are central to our obligation and commitment as a public institution of higher education to provide effective teaching for all people in our communities.
- Center for Social ImpactThe Center for Social Impact develops pathways for students to become socially responsible leaders and citizens who are prepared to create positive change in the world.
Culture & Community around Brandywine
- Campus MapNavigate the menu on the left to locate ADA Accessible facilities, the Campus Food Pantry, All-Gender Restrooms, Lactation Rooms, and Meditation Spaces (where applicable at each campus)
- Campus InformationLocated in Media, Penn State Brandywine is Philadelphia's "next-door" neighbor.
- Media BoroughMedia is a borough in and the county seat of Delaware County, Pennsylvania, United States. It is located about 13 miles west of Philadelphia, the sixth most populous city in the nation with 1.6 million residents as 2020.
- Delaware CountyDelaware County, colloquially referred to as Delco, is a county in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. With a population of 576,830 as of the 2020 census, it is the fifth-most populous county in Pennsylvania and the third-smallest in area.
- Delaware County Chamber of CommerceThe Delaware County Chamber of Commerce mission is "Driving Business Forward in our Community Through Connection, Education and Advocacy." Any business doing business in Delaware County, is invited to join the Delaware County Chamber of Commerce.