Maps Collections - Penn State
The Pennsylvania State University Libraries are home the largest map collection in Pennsylvania with over 337,000 sheets. The Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information is responsible for 300,000 of these maps. It has a selective housing agreement with the State Library of Pennsylvania and the FDLP and acts as the Regional Depository Library for maps in Pennsylvania. The Center concentrates on PA, US and world maps dating from about 1900 and forward, although it has a large collection of Sanborn Fire Insurance maps of PA. The Fletcher L. Byron Earth and Mineral Sciences Library concentrates on below ground maps useful. The Penn State Special Collections Library primarily hold rare maps prior 1900. Some maps can be found in the Digital Map Drawer.
- The Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial InformationHolds topographic maps, nautical charts, tourist and road maps, globes, atlases, gazetteers, and more.
- Fletcher L. Byrom Earth and Mineral Sciences LibraryPennsylvania Topographic maps as well as Geological maps.
- Penn State Special Collections LibraryHistorical maps, from before 1900
- Digital Map DrawerRepository of the Libraries' scanned map collection.
- Pennsylvania scanned maps in the Digital Map DrawerPennsylvania maps in the Digital Map Drawer that excludes Sanborn Fire Insurance maps and topographic maps
- Index maps to map setsOur collection includes many topographic map sets from all over the world. Some of the indexes can be found online. Our entire collection can be searched using the catalog or you can contact us directly.
How Maps are Organized
Our map and aerial photographs are organized by the Library of Congress Call Number system which groups maps by geographic area. ( then use information from this website.
Sanborrn Fire Insurance Maps
- Digitized Sanborn maps of Campus 1906-1929
Access Sanborn Fire Insurance maps of State College from the Digital Map drawer. Sanborn maps are extremely detailed plans of towns including building footprints and materials. - Pennsylvania Sanborn Map CollectionPenn State's Digitized Sanborn Map Collection
University Park historic maps
For more campus and State College maps, please contact the Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial information. ul-maps@lists.psu.edu
- 1874
"Map of Agricultural college," Atlas of Centre County, Pennsylvania: from actual surveys by Beach Nichols, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries.
- 1881-1882
“Map of Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: file: Maps and Charts, 1874-1929, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1891
“Map of College Campus,” From 1892 LaVie, page 35,The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1901
“Map of the Grounds and Buildings of The Pennsylvania State College,” The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1902
“Map of the grounds and buildings of the Pennsylvania State College, August 1902,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: file: Maps and Charts, 1874-1929, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries.
- 1906
“State College, Centre County, Pennsylvania, September 1906,” by Sanborn Map Company, Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information, Pennsylvania State University Libraries.
- 1910
“Map of Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: file: Maps and Charts, 1874-1929, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries.
- 1911
“State College, Centre County, Pennsylvania, August 1911,” Sheets 2 and 3, by Sanborn Map Company, Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. From the State College 1911 Sanborn map, use this link https://digital.libraries.psu.edu/digital/collection/maps1/id/989/rec/3
- 1918
“Campus and Experimental Farms of the Penna State College,” The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1922“State College, Centre County, Pennsylvania, June 1922,”pages 2 and 3 by Sanborn Map Company, Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. From the State College 1922 Sanborn map, use this link https://digital.libraries.psu.edu/digital/collection/maps1/id/999/rec/4
- 1929
“State College, Centre County, Pennsylvania, Oct. 1929,” by Sanborn Map Company, Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information, Pennsylvania State University Libraries.
- 1933
“Pennsylvania State College Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: file: Maps and Charts, 1930-1939, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1936-1937
“Pennsylvania State College Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: file: Maps and Charts, 1930-1939, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1938
“Pennsylvania State College Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: file: Maps and Charts, 1930-1939, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1938
“State College, Centre County, Pennsylvania, Oct. 1938,” by Sanborn Map Company, Sanborn fire insurance maps, Pennsylvania [1884-1950], Penn State University Libraries. - 1940
1940: “Pennsylvania State College Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: Maps and Charts, 1940-1949, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1947
“Pennsylvania State College Campus,” Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1948
“The Campus of the Pennsylvania State University,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: Maps and Charts, 1940-1949, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1952
“The Campus of the Pennsylvania State College,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: Maps and Charts, 1950-1959, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1955
“The Campus of the Pennsylvania State College,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: Maps and Charts, 1950-1959, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1957
“The Pennsylvania State University Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: Maps and Charts, 1950-1959, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1960
“The Pennsylvania State University Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: Maps and Charts, 1960-1969, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1961
“The Pennsylvania State University Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: Maps and Charts, 1960-1969, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1966
“The Pennsylvania State University Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: Maps and Charts, 1960-1969, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1971
“The Pennsylvania State University, University Park Campus,” General vertical files, Physical Plant: Maps and Charts, 1970-1979, The Eberly Family Special Collections Library, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1980
“The Map of the Pennsylvania State University,” Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 1992
“Campus Map: A Guide to the Penn State University Park Campus,” Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 2000
“The Pennsylvania State University: Visitors’ Guide Campus Map,” Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information, Pennsylvania State University Libraries. - 2012
“The Pennsylvania State University: Visitors’ Guide,” Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information, Pennsylvania State University Libraries.
- PSU campus map
Current interactive campus map