Overview of the map collections.

Please note, that this is a listing of the maps. Most are not yet scanned. Please contact them directly for scans.

Scanned county maps and atlases.

With surprising simplicity and startling accuracy, T.M. Fowler was able to capture at the time what a camera could not. Each work serves as a snapshot of America during the turn of the twentieth century providing a unique perspective and insight into the past.

The Pennsylvania State Archives holds warrantee township maps, which show all original land purchases from the Proprietors of the Commonwealth made inside the boundaries of present-day townships. In essence, these maps serve as a summary and geographical index for the warrants, surveys and patents held by the State Archives. Information usually shown for each tract of land includes:

Images of the region and state from the 16th to the 21st centuries. Many of these maps are part of a gift to Penn State by Harold J. Cramer.

Over 80,000 maps and images online including rare 16th through 20th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials.

Links to historical map sites all over the globe.

Beinecke Library's Maps of Pennsylvania. The entire collection has over 20,000 scanned maps.

University of Alabama has scanned many Pennsylvania maps. Collection includes geologic survey maps, county atlases and some city atlases of Philadelphia and Pittsburgh.

Maps of Pennsylvania in the New York Public Library map collection. NYPL is the largest public library collection in the country.

Maps at the Norman B. Collection of the Leventhal Map & Education Center. This is the 3rd largest map collection at a public library in the United States.

The Geologic Atlas of the United States is a set of 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945. Each folio includes both topographic and geologic maps for each quad represented in that folio, as well as description of the basic and economic geology of the area. Individual maps may be downloaded as TIFF or JPEG files and report can be downloaded as a PDF for easy viewing.

Direct link to online topographic maps

This project includes recommended Pennsylvania historic maps and geospatial datasets from a period of 1800 to present organized by thematic categories of geographic names, landmarks, transportation, hydrography, municipal boundaries, land ownership, elevation, land use/land cover, and remote sensing.

Maps of the Leigh Valley. A collaboration between historical societies and universities.

List of county maps & atlases with links

List of maps from the Pennsylvania State Archives.

Maps listed by county and year

The first official set of county maps produced for the Commonwealth

Tilden's Topographic map of Centre County's shows buildings, property owners, boundaries, canals, roads and railroads.

Pomeroy's Atlas of Centre County shows buildings, property owners, boundaries, roads and railroads. This also includes the first known map of Penn State.

Created as a product to help insurance companies assess the potential risks involved in underwriting policies - have developed into a tool with myriad uses for multiple industries

Aerial views and antique maps of selected cities in Pennsylvania

Collection highlights include Hexamer Maps, Sanborn maps, Ward Atlases

thousands of old maps, property atlases, City directories, industrial site surveys, and other items documenting the history and development of the city from the 1600s through today

Five series of maps helpful for studying and tracing the physical development and changes of the Pittsburgh area landscape

This map service includes a mosaic of several volumes of plat maps that were originally bound atlases. The mosaic was created using ArcGIS software from the scanned JPEG images, varying from 300-600 dpi. These images were obtained from the Historic Pittsburgh website The images were georeferenced to WGS84 Web Mercator and the borders were clipped to create a contiguous map.

PASDA, "Pennsylvania's official public access geospatial information clearinghouse", includes access to data as well as to map images and interactive maps

The PAMAP program was a collaboration among state agencies to produce a collection of statewide high resolution digital orthoimagery and lidar elevation data.

Create maps that show administrative and political boundaries, geological and geophysical information, transportation networks, and more

The Atlas of Historical County Boundaries is a powerful historical research and reference tool in electronic form. The Atlas presents in maps and text complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes (dated to the day) in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia.

Interactive maps designed for anglers and boaters by the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission

Links to the Risk Assessment, Mapping, and Planning Partners (RAMPP) Risk MAP Watershed Projects maps

The PA Flood Risk Tool is designed to provide floodplain managers, insurance agents, developers, real estate agents, local planners and citizens with an effective means by which to make informed decisions about the degree of flood risk for a specific area or property.

Tourism and Transportation Maps; County Maps; Township, Borough, and City Maps; Traffic Volume Maps; and general Pennsylvania Maps

Maps from the early 1900s to early 2000s from the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.

Explore geologic data and search for publications on your computer screen, download data and publications of interest, or add data directly to ArcMap or Google Earth

Explore the maps and learn about the many ways that the Pennsylvania Natural Heritage Program is working to protect biodiversity.

Use these interactive map tools to find Pennsylvania recreation, conservation, grant, economic resources, and geological information.

Lists of scanned Pennsylvania maps