ASL in Pennsylvania
The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania officially recognizes American Sign Language (ASL). In December 2004, the Pennsylvania State Legislature made American Sign Language a Foreign/World Language.
According to the PA Department of Education, "American Sign Language (ASL) is identified as a world language in the Public School Code. American Sign Language is a complete and autonomous human language with its own unique grammar and frequently used as a form of visual-spatial communication by the hearing-impaired communities." See also the PA Department of Education's "Certification Preparation Program Guidelines for American Sign Language (Last Updated, January 2019).
Image Credit: Farrah Au-Yeung, Assistant Graphics Editor, The Daily Bruin.com.
Books and eBooks
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary by Call Number: HV2475.T46 2020ISBN: 9781944838782Publication Date: 2020-07-22This unique reference can help users locate a sign whose meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign they have just seen for the first time. It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean.
A Historical and Etymological Dictionary of American Sign Language by ISBN: 9781563686221Publication Date: 2015-06-30The story of how American Sign Language (ASL) came to be is almost mythic. This book is the first to collect all known texts featuring illustrations of early ASL and historical images of French Sign Language--langue des signes française (LSF)--and link them with contemporary signs.
Sign Language Archaeology: Understanding the Historical Roots of American Sign Language by ISBN: 9781563684937Publication Date: 2015-02-28This engrossing study investigates the infancy of American Sign Language (ASL). Authors Ted Supalla and Patricia Clark highlight the major events in ASL history, revealing much of what has not been clearly understood until now.
Signs of a Happy Baby by ISBN: 9781683502111Publication Date: 2017-02-07Signs of a Happy Baby gives parents everything they need to start signing with their baby, including a comprehensive dictionary with easy-to-follow photos of fun and practical American Sign Language (ASL) signs, and tips for integrating sign language into their everyday activities.
Online Resources
- American Sign Language DictionaryThe largest collection of video signs online. This online collection contains over 40,000 videos for words and phrases in American Sign Language (ASL). Dictionary and word definition information is derived from WordNet by Princeton University.
- American Sign Language Teachers Association (ASLTA)Founded in 1976, the mission of the ASLTA is to perpetuate, preserve, and promote American Sign Language (ASL) and Deaf Culture through excellence in teaching. This includes teaching ASL as a heritage or first language, as a second language, and as part of Deaf Studies.
- Discover InterpretingDiscover Interpreting is an online platform for information about the profession of ASL interpreting.
- DPAN: The Sign Language ChannelCreated to make quality news and information accessible to both the Deaf and Hard of Hearing community and its supporters.
- Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID)The Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. (RID), a national membership organization, plays a leading role in advocating for excellence in the delivery of interpretation and transliteration services between people who use sign language and people who use spoken language.
- Signing Savvy: Your Sign Language ResourceSigning Savvy is a sign language dictionary containing several thousand high-resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs used within the United States and Canada.
- Sign School.comCurrently still in Beta, Sign School is a user-friendly online platform for learning ASL.
- StartASL.comStart ASL offers free and subscription services for learning American Sign Language (ASL).