Archivist and Humanities Librarian
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Core Databases
- Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowBest database for nonverbal communication and other topics pertaining to language.
Additional Recommended Databases
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new windownursing and allied health
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCMMC incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth in the communication and mass media fields.
- ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
- ProQuest Education Journals This link opens in a new windowProQuest Education Journals provides access to over 785 journals, more than 615 in full text, including all aspects of education, with coverage since 1991.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Journals This link opens in a new windowA full text database subset of CINAHL, including only 300 full-text journals that are licensed to ProQuest. Coverage is typically from 1996, with a few titles prior to that date.
- PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new windowPubMed allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing, physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology.
Journals and Newspapers
Academic Journals
Publications of ASHA (Amerian Speech-Language-Hearing Association) - Penn State Users Only
- American Journal of Audiology (AJA)
- American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology (AJSLP)
- Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research (JSLHR)
- Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools (LSHSS)
Deaf Studies Digital Journal (DSDJ) - Penn State Users Only
World’s first, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the cultural, creative, and critical output of published work in and about sign languages and deaf culture. Unlike other publications, the DSDJ is a bilingual and bimodal publication primarily presented in both American Sign Language and English.
Deafness & Education International: the Journal of the British Association of Teachers of the Deaf - Penn State Users Only
A quarterly peer-reviewed journal that publishes scholarly research relevant to the education of deaf infants, children, and young people, as well as their linguistic, educational, social, and cognitive development.
Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education - Penn State Users Only
A peer-reviewed, scholarly journal that integrates and coordinates research relating to people who are deaf. Includes cultural, developmental, linguistic, as well as educational topics.
Sign Language Studies - Penn State Users Only
Focuses on signed languages and other related disciplines, including linguistics, anthropology, semiotics, and deaf studies, history, and literature.
Historical Journals and Newspapers
American Annals of the Deaf and Dumb (1847-1882) - Penn State Users Only
Focused on quality in education and related services for deaf and hard-of-hearing children as well as adults in 19th-century America.
American Annals of the Deaf (1886-2017) - Penn State Users Only
The Silent Worker (1888-1929) - Free online via Gallaudet University's Archives
Among the deaf population in the US during the end of the 1890s through the end of the first quarter of the 20th century, The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper. Originally known as The Deaf Mute Times, it was first published in February 1888 and subsequently renamed The Silent Worker in September 1888. The New Jersey School for the Deaf continued its publication on a monthly basis (except in the months of July, August, and September) until it ceased publication in June 1929. Deaf American authors wrote almost all of the articles, although some contributions by deaf individuals from other countries were printed.