Head Librarian
Penn State Shenango Lartz Memorial Library
About Penn State Beaver
In the early days of Penn State Beaver, students actively created yearbooks and other publications to document student life on campus. Visitors to the Penn State Beaver Library may view local copies of yearbooks, freshmen faces, and literary magazines that are part of our local collection. Additional items, including copies of the student newspaper, are safely stored in the Special Collections Library at University Park.
On this guide, you can discover what we have available at Penn State Beaver and begin to search campus and university collections that are already digitized. This includes things "born digital," such as recent editions of the student newspaper, The Roar, and Penn State history collections that have been digitized. In the future, we hope to digitize more campus history artifacts to improve their discoverability and help preserve campus history.
Beyond Campus
Researchers may wish to explore local news archives for articles about campus history. Google News archives are available to everyone, but have incomplete coverage and limited searchability (see below); best for browsing.
For more about news archives, click on the "Related Research Guides" tab to the left.
- Google News Archive (free)Browse several local newspapers, including The Beaver County Times, (1954-2007, incomplete) and The Beaver Valley Times, (1946-1960, incomplete). Limited search capabilities; issues before 1970 may only be browsed, not searched.
Yearbooks and Freshmen Faces
Penn State Beaver Yearbooks
- The Freshman Register (1974/75-1975/76, one undated issue)Browse print copy, entries organized by name.
- Thyme (yearbook 1969-70)Browse print copy, index in back.
- The Beaver Collegian (yearbook 1966-68)Browse print copy, index in back.
Penn State Yearbook, La Vie
- Search the "La Vie" yearbooksSearch digitized versions of the La Vie yearbooks from 1890-2005. Students who attended or graduated at PSU Beaver may have submitted a picture, but many do not.
- La Vie in PrintCheck the catalog for print holdings at PSU campus library locations. Nearby Penn State Shenago has copies of recent years that haven't been digitized.
Student News and Other Documents of Student Life
Penn State Beaver Student Newspaper, The Roar
Online access to 2010-2021 issues of the Penn State Beaver student newspaper, The Roar. The newspaper is currently on hiatus.
See the "University Archives" section of this guide (link on left) to learn about our holdings of earlier editions.
- The Roar (April 2020-May 2021)During the COVID-19 pandemic, The Roar continued but shifted to a new format. Easily searchable across issues using the search box.
- The Roar (April 2010-March 2020)Issues of the student newspaper from April 2010-March 2020, as well as other publications. To search across issues, use the search box at the top of the page. You're searching all things published on the Issu platform, so try Name Beaver Roar or Event Beaver Roar to improve your search results. For example, search THON Beaver Roar to find any articles mentioning the dance marathon event. Once you open an issue, you can also search within that issue using the navigation tools at the bottom page.
Other Snapshots of Student Life
Literary Magazine
- In Other Words (1968-69)Browse the print copies at the Penn State Beaver Library.
PSU Beaver Athletics
- PSU Beaver Athletics Rise and Roar NetworkExplore teams, find player and team stats, and watch game recordings with student announcers. Read news stories and explore the honors archives including the Hall of Honor recognizing the dedication and service of the student-athletes, coaches, and administrators.
Other Penn State News
- Onward StateAn independent, alternative Penn State news website that seeks to foster the student voice through the combination of commentary that is fair, authentic, and sometimes humorous; analysis that is critical and irreverent; and news that is relevant and accurate. Onward State works to generate honest conversation in the hopes of enriching the Penn State community and experience.
- The Daily CollegianProvides full-page digital reproductions of the most recent issues.
- Daily Collegian, 1887-2010Full-text of the student newspaper and its predecessors. An important resource for campus life.
Pennsylvania State University Web Archive
This collection includes websites from Penn State academic departments, administrative units, research centers, student groups, faculty members, and the athletic department, and is primarily focused on the websites in the psu.edu domain. This web archive began in 2013 and most university websites are being re-captured on an annual basis. The collection is curated by the Penn State Special Collections Library.
- Penn State University Web ArchiveBrowse the archive online or search via the search box below